Skip to content

Adam Lambert blames being a teenage chubster and La Princesa Allison Iraheta sings!

December 2, 2009

Adam Lambert says being a fat kid in high school has made him the man he is today.

I was chubby in junior high. There is no recorded evidence of me dry humping anywhere. I know about this ugly duckling complex, though, granted, I don’t have time to dissect it all because I have to go to work.

But yesterday also marked the release of Allison Iraheta’s debut album, Just Like You. And then she visited her buddy Michael Slezak over at Entertainment Weekly for a little Realite action…an acoustic rendition of Don’t Waste the Pretty.

Hello? How much do you just adore La Princesa del Mariachi’s voice?

60 Comments leave one →
  1. auntieaimee permalink
    December 3, 2009 5:42 pm

    Allison at Best Buy picking up her own album. LOL!

    • lauren722 permalink
      December 3, 2009 5:46 pm

      I just watched that! She’s hilarious. Love her πŸ™‚

  2. Wino permalink
    December 2, 2009 6:22 pm

    what? a chubby blond guy with freckles likes to drown his face in emo makeup and cloak his body in leather just so he can avoid his true self in the mirror? im so shocked. not.

    • cimi permalink
      December 3, 2009 2:25 am

      I just think you’re all jealous. Adam is the hottest, sexiest, most engaing, most loving, person to hit the planet, dare I say, since Jesus. And all I hear is judgment–not unlike the pharisees that tried to dismantle Jesus. Ok, so, before you all start your comments on my comparisons with Adam/Jesus–no, I do not think (as some claim) that Adam is the second coming of Christ. I just think there is something about him. He is more than an entertainer. Here’s the thing. Even if Adam didn’t have his awesome voice, I think I would still be in awe of him.

      • tardrepellant permalink
        December 3, 2009 8:33 am

        Glamberts scare me and you scare me a whole lot- with tard-like behaviour.

      • spinningfasterandfastertonowhere permalink
        December 3, 2009 8:54 am

        You don’t even know Adam to say that…lol

        He could be a complete ass.

        Someone mentioned this before on another blog, but many of the previous Idols have met Adam and very few mention him.

        If he was such a great person they would have mentioned that he was a very cool, sweet, funny, or nice person, but they haven’t. So it would reasonable to say his personality might not be that “engaging” as many of his fans have projected on him. Even this seasons contestants he went on tour with have mentioned Adam very rarely.

        The only one who seems to have gone on and on about Adam was Blake Lewis. And as I recall reports say that Blake acted like a spoiled diva during his season. That he had a big ego and was snippy and terrible to many of his fans. On tour he also didn’t come out several times to meet the fans.

        So people can’t really say that Adam is the “most loving” and “most engaging” person to hit the planet if you don’t know him.

        Also the sexiest person in the world wouldn’t have to dye their hair and eyebrows and put make up to hide their true skin. The sexiest person are those who are naturally beautiful and don’t have to try. Naturally beautiful on the insides as well as the outside.

        Also for being the “sexiest” person in the world, as his fans claim, why is he single? Many of my friends have asked that. He said he wants a relationship really bad, yet he can’t seem to keep one. I know many gay well off busy couples and they have relationships that work out.

        • Mithra permalink
          December 3, 2009 3:12 pm

          Adam is turning into Blake Lewis 2.0 – funny, but true. It had been predicted by many. Blake likes him because he’s desperate now and is sucking up to all past contestants after his own douchebaggery. He not only didn’t come out to meet fans, but was downright rude when he did. He also dissed Clive Davis, Idol, and bragged about locking Sanjaya in a closet during the tour (Adam instead would just lock himself in there with him)and all sorts of other shit when his CD was tanking. Adam is on the same path and if he wants to change things, he needs to take a quick course in Blake Lewis 101 – What NOT to do…

          Otherwise I see an upcoming mall tour in the future – Blake, Adam, and Constantcrap as The Three Douchebags. Funny how Adam is making Gokey look good by comparison.

          • lauren722 permalink
            December 3, 2009 4:28 pm

            As spinning said none of us can know Adam’s personality. While we can’t assume he’s the nicest person in the world, you can’t assume he’s a douche either. The reason Adam skipped a lot of meet and greets was because his crazy fans literally try to rape him. Don’t blame him for being frightened by Glamberts. The majority of them make ME seem sane.

      • Bluewave permalink
        December 3, 2009 8:58 am

        MOO.

      • lauren722 permalink
        December 3, 2009 4:25 pm

        I think the scariest part of your comment is that you just implied that you think Jesus is sexy…haha!

      • Wino permalink
        December 4, 2009 4:10 pm

        oh cimi, you just made my day with your rant. thank you for amusing me. (honestly folks, i dont think this person is serious…..right?)

  3. December 2, 2009 6:17 pm

    I never had the weight issue. However,everyone has issues. Some outer some inner. Its up to the individual how to deal. I hate when people make excuses. IT’S UP TO YOU how to deal with your problems. Don’t place blame on others.

    sorry…ranted

  4. lauren722 permalink
    December 2, 2009 6:13 pm

    TI, when you watched the interview did you actually interpret his words that way. I thought that article took what he said and completely twisted it to fit their purposes. Anyway, more importantly…ME ENCANTA EL DISCO COMPACTO DE LA PRINCESSA!!!!! Y SU CANCION EN REALITE!!!!!!! I might actually “squee!!!!!!”

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 2, 2009 6:18 pm

      I don’t necessarily think its “twisting”, and I don’t think the first time he’s said such things either. He was basically saying this was how he acts/dresses/breathes now because of his chubby youth.

      • Wino permalink
        December 2, 2009 6:35 pm

        my gf worked with the Idol’s stylists this past season (she was in charge of each idol designing their own Pennyroyal pendant/charm). anyhoo, despite her love for Adam (on stage), she did mention how with each week, his obnoxiousness grew. He was laidback and quiet in week 10, by week 7 he would waltz into the green room inexplicably without his shirt (pinching his at his flab) just to be loud and drum up attention. its extremely typical of an insecure person who never had attention and now craves it. the AMA performance was a result of his youth…even if he explicitly didn’t say it. doesnt make him a bad person…hell, we all have our issues. it just makes him slightly annoying, especially when he is so defiant against anyone who calls him out on it. (ABC raise your hands).

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          December 2, 2009 8:21 pm

          I think your analysis is correct. However, I think the reason he seems so defiant about admitting it, is because he hasn’t realized it about himself yet. It took him a week to admit that he had stage fright. I don’t think he could admit that to himself at first, but he finally did.

        • cimi permalink
          December 3, 2009 2:13 am

          wino–I think your full of it. And!! I don’t believe anything you said in your previous post.

          • Wino permalink
            December 4, 2009 4:08 pm

            oh lordy. cant handle the truth? stay out away from this site

      • lauren722 permalink
        December 2, 2009 6:36 pm

        Maybe but he wasn’t trying to “excuse” his AMA performance and that’s basically what the article was saying.

        • cimi permalink
          December 3, 2009 2:16 am

          Hi Lauren. I think Adam has to walk a thin-line. He can’t apologize because that would mean a really big fall-out. I don’t think he Is all that apologetic about what he did. I do, on the other-hand, think that he himself thought he took it a bit too far. But to apologize, at this point, would send the masses into hysteria. He has to keep it cool. Deep down I think he wanted to apologize, like his dad suggested, but he can’t. If he did, he would be deemed… well…. dead to the music world. Or something like that.

          • Mithra permalink
            December 3, 2009 3:01 pm

            But to apologize, at this point, would send the masses into hysteria. He has to keep it cool. Deep down I think he wanted to apologize, like his dad suggested, but he can’t. If he did, he would be deemed… well…. dead to the music world. Or something like that.

            I actually agree with this. I think the whole thing with ABC can work in his favor in the long run…that is IF the sparkle cows and glamtards would shut the fuck up and not make him look like an ass and a joke. I have a felling he knows he’s stuck between a rock and a hard place trying to appease them and at the same time distancing himself and creating real world credibility outside the cheesy AI fantardland.

      • Sherena permalink
        December 2, 2009 6:58 pm

        I don’t see that in the quote at all. He’s just saying his weight made him insecure and performing made him less insecure. I don’t see how his performance style is mentioned at all. I suppose you could make an implicit connection, but it would be a very tenuous thing to say that he’s directly stating that he acts the way he does b/c he was chubby.

        • lauren722 permalink
          December 2, 2009 6:59 pm

          Haha that’s what I’m trying to say. You make it sound better πŸ™‚

          • Sherena permalink
            December 2, 2009 7:02 pm

            Yay! Glad to be of some use lol

      • kimberly permalink
        December 2, 2009 9:56 pm

        I think I mentioned some time ago that no matter how famous/successful/beautiful a person becomes, there will always be that insecure kid inside, no matter their glorious metamorphosis. With Adam, I could see he still has not made peace with that kid. So the whole being comfortable with who is blah, blah, blah always rang false to me.

        Hasn’t Adam been 27 forever? When is his birthday?

        • cimi permalink
          December 3, 2009 2:18 am

          His birthday is Januar 26th. He is one yr. younger than my oldest son.

      • blacklisted permalink
        December 2, 2009 10:09 pm

        Yeah, he’s still insecure. Those feelings may be a motivating force to succeed but the con is that it can lead to what happened during the AMA.

        • cimi permalink
          December 3, 2009 2:20 am

          See, this is weird… I don’t see any insecurity in him at. all.

          • December 3, 2009 2:59 am

            That’s b/c you are a tard who worships him.

            • cimi permalink
              December 3, 2009 4:52 am

              No not really. I just see things as they are. Adam has, and always has been very comfortable in his skin. that’s all folks.

            • lauren722 permalink
              December 3, 2009 4:24 pm

              Cimi, I agree he has gained much self-confidence but everyone still has some insecurities. On the other hand, I don’t think that was the factor motivating his rather suggestive performance.

          • blacklisted permalink
            December 3, 2009 3:40 am

            Adam has acknowledged his insecurities. They were also on display during the AMAs.

            Someone secure with themselves wouldn’t have resorted to that OTT performance. That’s why some of us felt second hand embarrassment b/c his actions appeared to be motivated by anxiety, fear and insecurity.

  5. Sherena permalink
    December 2, 2009 5:54 pm

    This is the actual quote.
    “I suffered from a little bit of an ugly duckling complex in my early twenties. When I was in high school I was 250 pounds and that creates some stuff…some body image stuff, some confidence issues and I got a lot of my confidence from the validation I got as a performer”

    He’s not casting any blame for anything or using it as an excuse for the way he performs. He’s just saying that he was insecure and being a performer gave him confidence. That’s a fairly bland statement that almost any performer can say. Journalism FAIL, PopEater.

    • saskin permalink
      December 2, 2009 6:52 pm

      Thanks for explaining; I’m really glad to know that Lambert isn’t acting the way he does because he used to be fat. I’m almost certain he acts that way because he is a self-absorbed jerk.

      (sherena you’re my favorite glambert but you kinda walked into that one + it’s not that serious actually; he’s an entertainer, we’re entertained)

      • Sherena permalink
        December 2, 2009 7:00 pm

        I’m glad you’re entertained πŸ˜›

      • lauren722 permalink
        December 2, 2009 7:04 pm

        Grrr. I have many issues with your comment but the one of utmost importance is : WHY AM I NOT YOUR FAVORITE GLAMBERT??? hmph

        • Sherena permalink
          December 2, 2009 7:08 pm

          Aww. You can be MY favorite Adam fan! B/c I’m not *quite* narcissistic enough to my own favorite yet. ^____^

          • Sherena permalink
            December 2, 2009 7:11 pm

            *to be
            remembering all the words fail

          • lauren722 permalink
            December 2, 2009 7:12 pm

            Yay! Thanks! I feel loved now πŸ™‚

            • saskin permalink
              December 2, 2009 7:20 pm

              SORRY! You all are. I’d like to make a correction; Sherena is one of my favorite glamberts.

              But we all are entertained. Come on; how do you guys explain the AMA’s? It is like the guy got drunk at the Thanksgiving dinner, threw up on the turkey, then peed on the potted plant in the middle of the living room and he is not even family yet (just engaged, last month). All family is going to be talking about this for years and years to come. Bad judgment call? You betcha (wink).

              I tease because I love.

            • lauren722 permalink
              December 2, 2009 7:58 pm

              …interesting comparison. I don’t exactly agree, but you know it really funny when you think about it. I agree it was a bad judgment call but really he didn’t throw up on the turkey. It wasn’t thaaaaat bad.
              Haha, I understand.

  6. Smartie permalink
    December 2, 2009 5:42 pm

    Love that kid, shame her album is so crap. She’s not a bubble gum pop singer, if only they realised that.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      December 2, 2009 6:09 pm

      Agreed. To her credit, though, she really elevates the material and makes it sound much better than it should. I do love “Scars”. Truly.

    • blacklisted permalink
      December 2, 2009 10:12 pm

      Allison seems to realize that she’s not pop. Sadly, tptb don’t give a shit, they only care about making money off of the pop princess bullshit.

  7. Burgundy LaRue permalink
    December 2, 2009 3:31 pm

    I’m carrying a lot of extra weight–have for years. In light of this, I will begin my career as a burlesque dancer/nudie trapeze artist/girl crotch flame thrower on February 14, 2010. It’ll a Valentine’s Day massacre to love! Chubbiness be damned!

  8. lee permalink
    December 2, 2009 2:50 pm

    Had a few extra pounds on me-too-when I was a kid. The experience didn’t give me the desire to flip the bird on TV but hey…

    • December 2, 2009 3:48 pm

      Lee, but were you ginger tho? Your avi looks kinda ginger. If that is the case, then that surely woulda made all the difference πŸ™‚

      • TopIdol permalink
        December 2, 2009 6:19 pm

        Oskar is a ginger, but I’m not dying his hair black. πŸ™‚

        • December 3, 2009 6:39 am

          No, that would be cruel! But may I suggest a sparkly, spikey collar, maybe a tiny leather studded jacket and a little glitter polish on claws? The look I would be aiming for is not quite achieved here but this does supply a little inspiration:

          So wrong – but so cuuute! πŸ™‚

  9. December 2, 2009 2:09 pm

    Adam didnt actually blame his early heaviness for the AMA dry-hump extravaganza. But for snarking/comic purposes, I understand the temptation to imply that.

    Moving swiftly on though I have heard the clips from Allison’s album, sounds really impressive – and as well rounded as any Pink album. And I love Pink. In fact the only track that I can’t really take to that much is the “Friday” single. But that performance ….. killer! The album is definitely on my xmas shopping list.

    • cimi permalink
      December 3, 2009 2:07 am

      Sorry, Lamberkitten–Pink is great, I know that and I don’t even listen to her, just heard a few songs about a decade ago. Allison does not compare. Now, granted, I have not listened to many of her songs. She is good but, no comparison.

      • December 3, 2009 3:52 am

        I won’t argue the point except I really like her – and her album from the snippets sounds immediately likeable. I just woke up to the news about the adam shows cancelled. Far too exhausted with Adam scandals to fight over Allison.

      • lauren722 permalink
        December 3, 2009 4:18 pm

        Cimi, la princessa es mas talentosa que Pink! Me encanta la princessa!

  10. Nicole permalink
    December 2, 2009 11:12 am

    LOL. Journalism has gone down the tubes. Such sensationalism. I did not interpret Adam’s comments that way at all. LOL

    The Internet cracks me up!

    On a good note, he came in #3 for his first week album sales!

    • cimi permalink
      December 3, 2009 2:05 am

      Hey! yahoo, Nicole. Adam L. did say he liked the top!

  11. freedavidcook permalink
    December 2, 2009 9:51 am

    Isn’t Madam’s 15 minutes up yet? He bores me.

    • cimi permalink
      December 3, 2009 2:04 am

      Well, if AL bores you, then you are not human.

      • Bluewave permalink
        December 3, 2009 8:54 am

        Perfect example of tard logic right here, folks.

Leave a Reply

