Skip to content

Kris Allen performs at Disney World 22 days before Xmas

December 3, 2009

Kris Allen (aka Hot By Default) went to Disney World today to film something for their Christmas Day Parade. Since it’s only December 3rd and all. He sang Rockin Around The Christmas Tree. It’s kind of awesome. He’s kind of an adorable little guy, ain’t he?

Now go buy his album. I promise you’ll like it.

(Thanks to h2oconvo and OhNoNotStarr for being on top of things and Tweeting this video like, only 100 views in.)

51 Comments leave one →
  1. deez permalink
    December 6, 2009 2:07 am

    Video from Friday’s concert in Chicago:

    2 more videos from Mj’s (sound not the best):

    http://mjsbigblog.com/kris-allen-miracle-near-state-street-chicago-video.htm/comment-page-1#comments

    • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
      December 6, 2009 3:46 am

      Despite the slightly garbled audio, I think he sounded great. And growing in confidence. But reading the comments on MJ’s I think some of the Kristards in that thread are getting a little overexcited. Calling him a genius for going acoustic? Umm, calm down.

      • deez permalink
        December 6, 2009 7:16 pm

        LOl! good, yes…genius, somewhat OTT. I think they are just trying to make some good news after all the “loser”, “worst ever” comments and reviews this past week.

      • Starr permalink
        December 12, 2009 7:34 am

        Well, as a Kristard and fan who has been guilty of calling his arrangements genius (I believe I started saying that when I heard him sing “Ain’t No Sunshine”, and then later when he did “She Works Hard for the Money”), to call it genius BECAUSE he chose to do something acoustic is perhaps a bit hyperbolic, yes, but then again, people tend to exaggerate when they go ape shit over a performance (and I guess, ape shit by definition IS exaggerating the level of bonkers you are in), so I can’t say I’m surprised.

  2. Starr permalink
    December 5, 2009 4:31 pm

    @saskin: About the whole corporate-sounding thing, I agree that a lot of Kris’s songs on the album are very polished, and they are the ones I like the least, however Kris has gotten criticized before for being too coffee-shop-sounding, and as he said on his interview with Slezak, “you gotta amp it up for the album”. I bet people were expecting a majority acoustic album from Kris, and while that’s not necessarily a bad expectation, it is sort of a safe expectation.

    If you read reviews online, people can’t seem to make up their minds about this CD, which leads me to believe that there really is no consensus about what this CD sounds like. The People review said Kris didn’t convey emotion well on the album. That’s a big “What the fuck?” right there. Blog reviews here and there can’t make up their mind over whether the CD sounds overproduced or underproduced. For those outside of the Idol bubble who like mainstream pop, they seem to lean towards the more overproduced songs like “Can’t Stay Away”, “The Truth”, “Heartless” and “Let It Rain”. The KA fans tend to like the ones that are 100% Kris, but not overproduced, like “Is It Over”, “I Need to Know”, “Alright With Me” and “Red Guitar”.

    I think that the good thing about this CD is that there’s something for everyone. For the people who like poppy, catchy music – this CD definitely offers that. For those who like Kris for his spare arrangements and emotional vocals, this CD has these as well, although not in an abundance we may have preferred.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 5, 2009 4:36 pm

      The “reviews” in People are a joke. I’ve never put any validity in them whatsoever, for films, TV, music, you name it.

      I, for one, think Kris Allen will just keep getting better and I hope he has a chance to expand his audience and do it. I think he shows tremendous potential as a singer-songwriter and could gain an entirely new fanbase once he escapes the Idol bubble.

    • deez permalink
      December 6, 2009 12:41 am

      That “no emotion” thing was WAY off base IMO. You don’t like his voice…ok, you don’t like the songs…ok, but NO EMOTION???That’s about the most invalid criticism there could be.

  3. deez permalink
    December 4, 2009 10:11 am

    Oh God. I hate to do this but I have to.

    Kara has written a song for Gokey. It’s the perfect storm. (I just read the comments, I couldn’t bring myself to actually listen to it)
    http://mjsbigblog.com/danny-gokey-kat-house-performances-video.htm#comments

    • auntieaimee permalink
      December 4, 2009 11:42 am

      Is anybody going to break it to Danny that he is a Christian artist and not a Country one? And by “artist”, I mean singer. Let’s not get carried away…

    • Burgundy LaRue permalink
      December 4, 2009 6:29 pm

      I’ve always contended that when writing the snake venom that is No Boundaries, Kara wasn’t aiming for Krisville or Adamland. It was Gokeytown. That messed-up song had I’M FOR DANNY written all over it.

      • auntieaimee permalink
        December 4, 2009 6:40 pm

        He MUST name his album that. “Gokeytown”. πŸ™‚

        • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
          December 5, 2009 7:07 am

          I’ve got the lyrics to Funkytown in my head now, except… you know… 😦

          And synced to that tune is the image of him thrusting his pelvis in one of the result shows… ewwww. Pass the brain bleach please!

      • TopIdol permalink
        December 4, 2009 6:55 pm

        AGREED. And he would have finished with a teary-eyed look heavenward, before glancing back down and putting his hands into an inspirational heart shape.

        Jesus. He’s almost too schlocky even for IDOL standards.

  4. saskin permalink
    December 4, 2009 8:33 am

    I bought the CD. Since I did, you’ll have to read about it.

    A few days ago I promised to buy some Allen CDs. Then I thought to myself “don’t be ridiculous, you promised a bunch of letters, you don’t have to” but at the same time I felt like I should. So I went shopping. First, I decided to go to another town to shop in case I bump into someone I know. I drove 45 minutes to not the next town, not the town after that but the next town after that one. While driving I decided to buy one of each and spread the wealth around instead of buying 3 Allen CD’s (I know, I know: 19 gets the money, but once they sell enough the kids will make money too. Right?) .

    So I went to the Borders. I started looking around, Iraheta was at the new and shiny section with Boyle and Mayer, a crazy Glambert must have re-organized the shelves since Lambert was under every letter and Allen was nowhere to be found. So I started looking for Allen but then I noticed this guy right behind me. I was so embarrassed that I hid the Iraheta and Lambert CDs behind some other CDs and picked up a Brad Mehldau CD. I was pretending to look around, waiting for the guy to get lost but he kept following me. So, besides the Mehldau CD, I ended up buying a bunch of books that even if I manage to find time to read I probably am not smart enough to understand (I hate my pretentious ass) and a Yellow sub-marine notebook (’cause, if I’m going to spend 100 bucks I better be able to write on it).

    So I moved on to Best Buy. Iraheta (again) very easy to locate, Allen everywhere, Lambert buried between some other crap but locatable. I got all 3 of them then I’m pretty sure those high-school aged kids started to point and laugh at me. So I quietly put them back and veeerrrryyy sllloooooowwwwwlllllyyy moved towards the exit. I didn’t buy anything.

    Next stop Target. I bought organic an sheet set. Then I decided (why not) to buy the bamboo ones too. I bought a table runner. A table cloth. Again why not, napkins and napkin rings too. At this point I was confident enough that I could sneak 3 CD among these items. Right? So I went to the CD section. Again, Iraheta everywhere. Allen right there. Lambert nowhere to be found. It took me so long to find it that my nerves got the best of me and I left Target without buying the CDs and spending almost $200.

    At this point I was almost sure I didn’t have what it takes to buy those CDs. But I’m competitive. So I challenged myself to go to Walmart. I never go to Walmart. I couldn’t care less about what people of Walmart think of me. Deep breath. I went in. I bought a paper shredder (it was $25) a soap dish, couple of kitchen towels. I was totally losing it again. So I dived into the CD section. I found all of them. Picked one of each. Then I realized that I needed a cover story to avoid looking like an AI nut. So I picked a random Christmas CD and a Miley Cyrus Karaoke CD. I went to the register. I gave the bathroom and kitchen items first. When the clerk mentioned that she almost bought the same soap dish, I thought “Yessss, we’re bonding”. So (since we bonded and all) I explained the clerk that I am buying the shredder for my husband. When I gave her the CDs I casually mentioned that -at least I thought it was casual enough- those are for my niece and my mother. The clerk looked at me. I’m pretty sure she was holding back her laugh. Damn it. I lost all my credit for sharing the same taste in soap dishes with her that very instant . Well, I closed my eyes, thought to myself “you are a strong woman, you can do this” and swiped my card.

    Now you guys need to spread the wealth around too.

    I’ll start with Glamberts:

    Check this out:


    http://www.amazon.com/Crash-Kings/dp/B0026IZR7K

    It is only $7.99 to download. They are talented young musicians unlike that crappy karaoke singer of yours. It is their first album. Help them out this X-mas. If anything download Mountain Man. Spread the wealth around because that’s what I did (about $400 of it + I ate a bunch of pirouettes).

    • deez permalink
      December 4, 2009 9:51 am

      LOL. Merchants should use this as a selling strategy…place Idol CD’s next to impulse items to increase sales!! I guess I got lucky, when I bought my Kris CD , I was doing the same thing you did, (I bought some blank DVDs and a sewing kit to cover my transgressions) but as I was checking out the CD, the clerk (a gay guy in his early 20’s) walked up behind me and started gushing about how much he loved Kris! My shame quickly vanished and we had an HBD bonding moment.

      • Burgundy LaRue permalink
        December 4, 2009 6:26 pm

        I bought Kris’ CD along with the new Flyleaf album early one Sunday morning at Wal-Mart. It was mixed in with my other items–grocery related stuff, mostly. The cashier glanced at it, but that was probably due more to me being an overweight black woman in need of a new hairstyle and wondering why I would pick up a CD by this young and hot college-aged white guy. I had my excuse ready–my Secret Santa buddy at work is a fan, so it’s a gift for her.

        Anyway, I got the CD with no harm done. Thank goodness. But no way am I trying that with Adam’s CD. I’m not setting myself up for that mockery.

        • nekola permalink
          December 4, 2009 7:04 pm

          This made me LOL! I’m a black woman too and I “discretely” bought my CD, along with other household items of course. The cashier didn’t even glance at me as she rung up my items and I didn’t offer up any explanations either. I guess that whole transaction was a wash.

          • TopIdol permalink
            December 4, 2009 7:16 pm

            I tend to pocket my iPod whenever I’m riding on the T, depending on what is playing.

            EVEN BLACK WOMEN LOVE KRIS ALLEN. Wow. I may have to make an addendum to my manifesto from last week πŸ˜‰

    • auntieaimee permalink
      December 4, 2009 11:37 am

      What the hell was the clerk laughing at? She’s the one working at Target.

      • saskin permalink
        December 4, 2009 12:15 pm

        πŸ™‚ I probably lost my credibility because of the Miley CD… That’s my theory right now.

    • on the edge permalink
      December 4, 2009 11:59 am

      Okay saskin, you did what David Cook couldn’t…got me to listen to Crash Kings! Thanks…I will probably get their album now. The snippets alone are great!

      • saskin permalink
        December 4, 2009 12:17 pm

        Yesssssssssss! Thank you. David Cook likes them?

        • on the edge permalink
          December 4, 2009 12:54 pm

          Yeah…he was on a bit of a repeat loop during interviews a while back when he got asked what was on his iPod, and Crash Kings was a recurring theme.

    • saskin permalink
      December 5, 2009 9:50 am

      I’ll conclude: there is a very good reason why 95 percent of the AI audience and 100 percent of the rest of US never buy an idol CD: they think it is a total rip off and they are right.

      I listened to them with friends (non-fans of the show) and we all decided that they are a mess (except Allen got somewhat better reviews). After 8 years of ripping off people and producing 3 semi-acceptable singers of course people are very paranoid and Lambert/Iraheta albums do nothing to calm that paranoia. Everyone agreed that they are very corporate sounding and have no musical identity at all. On the other hand almost everyone thought that the Allen album is more like an indie singer songwriter album than what they expected from an AI. Still my friends thought that certain Allen pieces were very corporate sounding and the album didn’t flow as well as it could but some decided to download a couple of songs (Red guitar being one of them)

      I know some people here are big fans, but they’re just not that good for public consumption.

      All of them (these are liberal people) were terrified of the Lambert cover. They asked me why I didn’t buy online. I said ’cause it is not hardcore. It is very very hard to go to a store and buy a Lambert album on impulse for a non-fan (not just because of the cover but because of the cover+controversy+idol stigma). Other two only have idol stigma to fight. I think if Allen can manage to stick around long enough to shed the idol stigma he can build some street cred and become a legitimate artist. Other two? I can only hope they will.

      Finally; SuBo and Bocelli are not hard to buy at all. I think because there is no stigma attached to it. But I think this will be the last x-factor rip off. It will fade away after this year.

      Also it is not a myth, people do re-arrange shelves (that was another tidbit that terrified my friends)

      • TopIdol permalink
        December 5, 2009 1:32 pm

        When I was in Best Buy last week, I never saw an Idol album. I wasn’t looking very hard, but I did walk by the new release section.

  5. sahsouha permalink
    December 4, 2009 1:57 am

    love him to pieces..bought 10 CDs of his album..he is worth it! & it’s amazing!

    • Claire permalink
      December 4, 2009 2:21 am

      Ugh, after reading the 12/7 issue of People Magazine, I kind of feel like buying 10 copies too. I haven’t even heard it yet, but at this point I don’t really care.

      They reviewed FYE and gave it 3.5 out of 4 stars. Thought it was a great glam-pop-rock album with solid tracks and impressive vocals. That’s not the part that bothered me. It was the very first sentence, “Was there ever any doubt that AL’s post AI debut would beat KA’s?”that annoyed the crap out of me. They went on to say that Adam won where it really counts. WTF? I expect this kind of review on MJ’s, but not People. The final numbers for FYE weren’t even available at that time, and although it ended up being true, was that really necessary? Why the hell was HBD even mentioned? Focus on Adam.

      I have no idea what People said about HBD’s album, and if they thought it sucked, then they have every right to give it a shitty review, but that comment seemed uncalled for. I don’t remember People being a Lambert love fest (nothing wrong with that) like Rolling Stone, and I don’t remember them holding a grudge against HBD after his win either.

      I’m sure some Glamtards probably framed that article or put it on their Christmas cards this year.

      • deez permalink
        December 4, 2009 2:29 am

        I think People gave Kris 2.5 stars….which is fine (different strokes) but I agree the comment was out-0f- line.

        This will lift your spirits…tweets from the one and only CHARLES:

        http://twitpic.com/rhxoh

        and

        “Just waited on customer, Dusty Tinkler [insert own joke here], and needless to say, could not look him in the face.
        about 11 hours ago from Echofon “

      • cookie d'oh permalink
        December 4, 2009 4:30 am

        OK Peoplemag — If the album is so great, why isn’t radio playing any songs off it? Why is Time For Miracles a bust? Why is For Your Entertainment dead in the water? Why does Adam need to release a 3rd single just to get some radio love? Third time’s the charm, maybe?

        Why is he only hosting at these jingle balls and not performing at any of them? Why is RCA shelling out so much money for a guy whose had three failed songs? His album sales have already seen a 75% drop in its second week!! Why are they already doing a second video for a song that no one outside his BSC faction has even heard of?

        • Nich permalink
          December 4, 2009 2:18 pm

          I have to say that I am shocked and pleased that Kris is performing at the Jingle Balls. I was disappointed that David Cook didn’t get any last year so yay for Kris.

          I’ve only heard FYE once on the radio but Z100 seems to have latched onto WWFM which is actually pretty good. It’s better than FYE for sure.

      • Nich permalink
        December 4, 2009 2:15 pm

        Wow none of those comments (People’s) was neccesary at all. The show ended guys. Let it go.

      • Caitlyn permalink
        December 8, 2009 4:09 pm

        I’m an Adam fan and I had similar moment of annoyance reading that. I’d be annoyed if a review of Kris started out “His album is so much better than that all-hype-no-talent Adam Lambert’s” and it’s annoying when a review starts out with an insult to Kris in favor of Adam. It’s just so pointless to compare them, much less to compare them and sneer at the one you like less.

        Most reviews don’t seem to have done that, though, so no point in getting too worked up about it. πŸ™‚

  6. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    December 4, 2009 1:17 am

    He is adorable and pocket-sized. One of these days I’ll get around to buying his album.

  7. blacklisted permalink
    December 4, 2009 12:59 am

    Fuller clip with Kale’s jiggly manboobs on display. Talk about ATTENTION WHORE!

    • on the edge permalink
      December 4, 2009 1:06 am

      No clue what you’re seeing…but ain’t NOTHING jiggling on Cale. *fans self*

      • deez permalink
        December 4, 2009 1:38 am

        Some funny comments from the crowd.( I guess they aren’t nuts who follow the goings-on after the show is over in the spring.) One seemed surprised that HBD was “diminutive.” I’m guessing the “Mel Gibson” comment was directed at Cale (did he win that Cosmo thing?), and the girl trying to get “blue sweatshirt’s” number.

        • blacklisted permalink
          December 4, 2009 1:56 am

          And you know the dude in the background also wanted Cale’s number. Join the line buddy.

          • deez permalink
            December 4, 2009 2:17 am

            Wonder how he will handle his “new-found” sex-appeal? (I’m just assuming that screaming fans haven’t hounded him in the past, could be wrong lol….maybe we need to re-examine all those pre-idol Kris frat boy pics to see if we can spy us some Cale)

    • erinnthered permalink
      December 4, 2009 2:54 am

      I don’t care if Cale jiggles a bit, I’ll take him. mmmm, Cale.

      I don’t like Christmas music, but I sure like Kris’ arranging. I’m convinced he can make me listen to just about anything at this point.

  8. blacklisted permalink
    December 4, 2009 12:21 am

    I love how they cut out the only ugly member of the band…the ginger haired drummer.

  9. Heather permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:43 pm

    Hey, lay off Chris T.! Yeah he has long hair but I don’t get any kind of “sleazy” vibe from him. I trust Kris’s judgment, and besides, I love the funky base lines he lays down!

  10. lauren722 permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:41 pm

    Aww Kris is a cutie πŸ™‚ And his voice is so pleasant.
    I want to cuddle with him. Too bad he is taken by Ada…I mean KATY ALLEN!!!!!
    I will never stop the Kradam jokes! Too fun πŸ™‚

  11. pattyluponey permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:11 pm

    Kris’ bass player off on the very right gives me a creepy, greasy Constantine vibe. He totally doesn’t fit with the rest of Kris’ clean-cut cutie pie band.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 3, 2009 11:13 pm

      I totally thought Walking VD when I saw that guy, too. πŸ™‚

      • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
        December 4, 2009 12:34 am

        I have to reconsider my posting name here.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      December 3, 2009 11:22 pm

      Totally! Ewww.

  12. on the edge permalink
    December 3, 2009 10:58 pm

    He actually made me like that song. Which is not easy to do, BTW…after all, MILEY did that song last year (I think? One of those teenyboppers did it, anyway).

    David Cook did Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas and Happy X-mas (War Is Over) last year, but I already loved those original songs anyway. Kris took a moldy fruitcake and turned it into my grandmother’s peach cobbler. Miracles never cease.

  13. auntieaimee permalink
    December 3, 2009 10:49 pm

    Ok, I hate this song with a passion, but Kris is a cutie pie. So is Cale (the guy in the hoodie). Hey, I’m not blind.

  14. sunshine8503 permalink
    December 3, 2009 10:42 pm

    Its good πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

