Skip to content

Adam Lambert: The Star-Spangled Banner at the ADL Fundraiser

December 13, 2009

Our favorite Adam Lambert fan living in Dubai must be stateside again…perhaps her husband lost his job since the Dubai economy tanked? Or maybe she’s just in for the Hanukkah holidays? In any case, she must have used her Los Angeles connections to get a ticket to Wednesday’s Anti-Defamation League fundraiser honoring Steven Spielberg. I hope she blogs about it, as its been a few days since I’ve been simultaneously angered and amused.

It’s nice that Lambert was finally able to sing during a public appearance. All those Jingle Ball emcee gigs seem to promote Adam Lambert the celebrity more than Adam Lambert the recording artist.

44 Comments leave one →
  1. Trish permalink
    December 14, 2009 3:46 pm

    I liked the way Adam sang the anthem at Miramar, but I hated what he did at the ADL event. I’m not opposed to a little riffing, even on the SSB, but his too often seems so forced and contrived. It’s called OVERKILL.

    Yes, he has an amazing range, but so do opera singers. So what?

    I just love how so many of his fans think he’s the only person in the world with a multi-octave range. As if. It’s maddening!

    • Claire permalink
      December 14, 2009 3:55 pm

      Homophobe!

    • Sherena permalink
      December 14, 2009 11:03 pm

      So the opera singers are amazing too. *shrug* Except for I don’t listen to opera, and I do listen to pop rock.

  2. AIFan permalink
    December 14, 2009 11:23 am

    Adam really butchered the SSB with all that melisma and embellishments. Can’t he sing anything straight ?

  3. erinnthered permalink
    December 14, 2009 5:32 am

    There is nothing scarier than a BSC fan with money, privilege, and contacts. Poor Adam.

  4. blacklisted permalink
    December 14, 2009 2:35 am

    Nope, Perez is one of my people, hispanic and queer. The Jews just don’t deserve that woman as one of their people.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 14, 2009 2:40 am

      No one really deserves that woman as one of their people.

      (She’s not a heiffer, that’s for sure. Tiny thing, looks younger than her age. Not ugly on the outside, per se. The inside, however, is a completely different story.)

      • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
        December 14, 2009 3:46 am

        OMG the first couple of times I read that I thought you referred to Perez as a woman. Way to demean your own gender! LOL!

        What annoys me about this selfish sparkle cow is that as more people rate and comment on her video, it further reinforces her sense of entitlement and perpetuates her disgusting behaviour. She already has such a deluded sense of herself, now with everyone kissing her ass about getting video, she’ll keep doing it.

      • blacklisted permalink
        December 14, 2009 12:35 pm

        For me, ‘heiffer’ isn’t about weight, it’s a state of mind. For example, I would never call Jordin Sparks a ‘heiffer’. She’s a talented young woman trying to make music (she’s a little chunky, but she’s a pretty, nice girl).

        OTT fans, racists living in Dubai, stupid people, Paris Hilton, Heidi? Those are (dumb) heiffers.

  5. blacklisted permalink
    December 14, 2009 1:54 am

    Is that heiffer, Jewish? I thought my people having Perez was bad.

  6. LeighKat permalink
    December 14, 2009 12:17 am

    Okay so the racist was at an Anti-Defamation event? I realise it’s not the same thing but… wow.

  7. Caspar permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:45 pm

    I’m with ya, Brett.

    I’m a Cook fan, and even on DCO I’m forced to stare at Hambert’s mug (on ads).

  8. 8sourcandy permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:38 pm

    As pure as the driven snow.

  9. yuppie permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:35 pm

    Oh, my favorite Glambert!

    Also, he messed up the words. 😉 WHILE the ramparts, Adam?

    His voice is really good here, but, I guess I am an SSB purist. I tend to hate lots of vocal embellishments that mess with the original melody.

  10. Brett permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:26 pm

    God, I want to like Adam Lambert. If I’m going to have to see his mug and read his name every other sentence, I really need to like him. But every time I hear him sing I’m reminded of how much I just cannot like him no matter how hard I try. He has undeniable vocal chops, but his voice is soulless to me, and it hurts my eardrums. I find his on-stage mannerisms affected, and his off-stage persona becomes more insufferable every day. This depresses me. I will cry if he sings at the Oscars. Because Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin are hosting the Oscars and I’ve really been looking forward to it. Even Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin can’t help me overcome my distaste for Adam Lambert’s voice. I will find myself daydreaming about Rob Lowe singing with Snow White during the entire musical montage.

    • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
      December 14, 2009 1:35 am

      Brett, I get that Adam sees himself as more a performer than a purist singer, hence the exaggerated mannerisms onstage. He doesn’t really carry himself that way as far as I can see in interviews. But I agree with the voice, and it has a lot to do with preference. Technically his vocals seem out of this world and his range is unbelievable, but I can’t connect emotionally with theatrical and technically perfect voices. And not a fan of the embellishments either.

      • pattyluponey permalink
        December 14, 2009 11:19 am

        It is totally about preference. Theatrical and technically perfect voices is exactly what I do connect with emotionally. Up until about 9 months ago my iPod was filled pretty much only with musical theatre soundtracks. (My reintroduction to popular music only happened coincidentally at the same time as my introduction to Adam, not because of…) He has very strong support in theatre community (which by the way has its own interesting Tardland).

        The key change after the bridge in “Pick U Up” where he holds that note with straight tone to vibrato at the end, then picks up the chorus all on one breath? Chills, everytime…and couldn’t be a more musical theatre embellishment. He has gotten very rifftastic in his live performances lately, how very Matt Giraud of him…;)

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          December 14, 2009 11:07 pm

          “the bridge in “Pick U Up” where he holds that note with straight tone to vibrato at the end, then picks up the chorus all on one breath”

          I love that!

    • deez permalink
      December 14, 2009 12:03 pm

      Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin hosting??? I love me some Alec Baldwin. I have a feeling that he’s probably an asshole in person, but he’s so awesome in (almost) every way, that I just have to ignore some things.

  11. 8sourcandy permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:08 pm

    Tis the season

    • wino permalink
      December 14, 2009 12:23 am

      i love acoustic xmas music…and i love the random kris bonus vid. tis the season indeed 🙂 LOL at the thought of Adam taking over the Oscars. riiiight. just like he was going to take over the charts and blow EVERYONE out of the water. poor guy, just let him sing and concentrate on building a fan base (outside the media and idol world). BTW, has Allison gotten the chance to perform at one of the Jingle Balls? if so, why not Adam?

    • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
      December 14, 2009 1:20 am

      BE WARNED, THE FOLLOWING STATEMENT CONTAINS DANGEROUS LEVELS OF TARD.

      His voice sounds like hot cocoa laced with hazelnut syrup.

      /tard

      Please proceed with mockery.

      • blacklisted permalink
        December 14, 2009 1:50 am

        Is that person calling Adam saccharine? That wouldn’t be a compliment.

        • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
          December 14, 2009 2:13 am

          Actually that was me in response to HBD’s Christmas songs. And I meant it as a compliment in the tardiest possible way, it seems. Not sure why it came out in italics though.

          Consider it a freebie, Blacklisted. 🙂

          • blacklisted permalink
            December 14, 2009 2:27 am

            I guess I’m just not a fan of hazlenut syrup.

            BTW you should be ashamed of yourself, tarding over HBD! You’re obviously falling off one of the 12-steps. Strength VD, strength.

            • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
              December 14, 2009 3:55 am

              Oh right! To make up for it I’ll spend a good hour tonight studying his performance videos for his baldspots.

      • Sherena permalink
        December 14, 2009 2:25 am

        Oh, yum.

    • erinnthered permalink
      December 14, 2009 5:29 am

      How does this man get me to listen to Christmas music? I don’t like Christmas music. Okay, that one Mariah song and Eartha Kitt, but that’s it. He makes me like this crap. I’m not even Christian!

      I’m such a tard…

      Also, Andrew(lead guitarist, correct?) is pretty talented. I wasn’t sure if he was a one solo wonder type, but he clearly understand different styles, and can riff well. I’m glad Kris’ people got a hold of him.

  12. pattyluponey permalink
    December 13, 2009 10:53 pm

    Isn’t the best thing about Adam Lambert that he can sing circles around just about everyone? Just sayin….

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      December 13, 2009 11:02 pm

      I am proud of him. He did a great job and looked very handsome.

  13. 8sourcandy permalink
    December 13, 2009 10:53 pm

    I am very pleased to hear him sing too. Reports after the event included Steven Spielberg saying Adam Lambert was his hero, and the only thing his kids will remember from the evening was meeting him. Nice.

    Of course the fantards are already have him staring in every Spielberg film now.
    Another rumor that made me laugh is that Spielberg, or someone from that event said that Adam WILL be at the Oscars. Speculation is that Adam will sing ALL nominated songs the way Beyonce did a few years ago. That would crack me up if it’s true.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 13, 2009 11:25 pm

      Did she sing all the songs? I thought there were only a couple and she ended up having to add another last minute?

      The rumor about him performing at the Oscars started circling again yesterday because someone wrote about it on Examiner.com and cited an article on some Hispanic Business website…all about Time For Miracles maybe being nominated, which isn’t even eligible.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        December 13, 2009 11:35 pm

        That’s why I said rumor, I couldn’t remember where I read it. I hate when they have one person sing all the songs anyway.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        December 13, 2009 11:48 pm

        I thought she sang all. I don’t remember. I do remember that I thought is was stupid. The Oscar songs usually suck anyway.

        • TopIdol permalink
          December 13, 2009 11:55 pm

          Falling Slowly and any Springsteen song are good ones, anything by Randy Newman forces me to put it on mute. Actually, the last few years have been great, ever since Eminem won it seems. I think they have been giving songs which wouldn’t have been considered before a shot. Jai Ho, It’s Hard Out There For a Pimp, Falling Slowly…all great choices.

          • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
            December 14, 2009 12:12 am

            Thing is, I feel that Jai Ho isn’t even that great of a song if not for the buzz surrounding Slumdog Millionaire. Having been exposed to Bollywood for a lot longer than the west, I can say that AR Rahman’s music in other movies are better, it’s just that the rest of the world is only catching up now. A suggestion: music from the movie Taal. That was some years ago, though.

            • wino permalink
              December 14, 2009 12:35 am

              True. But there wasnt much competition….seriously, only three songs? what the F was the academy thinking? so out of those 3, it was the most deserving. I am quite embarassed to write this, but I hope a song from New Moon receives a nomination this yr :). Possibility by Lykke Li is quite catchy…and it was written specifically not only for the film, but for a particular scene (I recall reading this on EW.com). Anyhoo, I hope this year’s nominee list features a more diverse group (ie not just songs from animated tunes and one random indie flick).

            • erinnthered permalink
              December 14, 2009 5:06 am

              My fave is Rang de Basanti. I like the music from Taal too, but I haven’t seen the film yet.

              I’m just happy they honored him. I loved that he treated it just like any other award, since he’s got at least one of just about everything.

            • Lakshmi permalink
              December 14, 2009 12:38 pm

              I second (or third, losing track) the recommendation of the Taal soundtrack. Ishq Bina is one of my all time favorite songs.

          • erinnthered permalink
            December 14, 2009 5:01 am

            I remember a blurb in EW a few years back pointing out that, at the time, Three Six Mafia had more Academy Awards than Scorsese. Doesn’t mean they didn’t deserve it. lol

            Yeah, they do seem to be getting it right these days.

  14. Smartie permalink
    December 13, 2009 10:03 pm

    Oh look it’s the racist hag again. Did she bring ‘Daddy’ along, her husband?

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      December 13, 2009 11:36 pm

      Does she really call her husband daddy?

Leave a Reply

