Skip to content

Kris Allen: Hilariously tactful and now with super-smart bandmates

December 14, 2009

At some acoustic show in Philly, Kris Allen was all sorts of adorable.

Yeah, yeah, yeah. I just called him adorable. Don’t worry. I’m not making a puffy paint shirt proclaiming this, nor am I writing skeevy fan fic or buying Fimo so I can sculpt a plaid-shirted embryo. All I know is that he’s the first person in the four seasons I’ve ever watched of this shit show called American Idol whom I’ve grown to like MORE after the season is finito.

Anyway, HBD made fun of Justin Bieber aka THE MOPPET OF BEELZEBUB but did so in a sweet, aw shucks kind of way. And I like that his drummer wanted to fight The Moppet of Beelzebub, because more people should want to do this. Now whomever filmed this could have maybe panned to the bassist (aka Latin Jesus or The Guy with the Quasi-Walking-VD-Constantine-Maroulis-Profile) during the parts when they were talking about him. Maybe panned to the drummer, too? The guy was gonna cage fight The Moppet of Beelzebub if need be and he can’t even get some face time? I know you people have one-track minds but think about it this way…what would HBD want? He would want you to move the camera when necessary to feature his friends. From what I’ve seen so far, HBD has good taste in people.

And seeing a clip like this makes me, a cold-hearted, non-believing anti-tard, really want to see this guy and his buddies play live.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    December 26, 2009 8:41 pm

    I always love your posts about Kris. 🙂 and I agree: I’ve only grown to like him MORE after the season was over. In fact, I thought he was kind of meh up until this summer when I started to see his tour vids, and got to “know” him better through twitter and such. He’s actually very cool, very talented, and the real deal. And his bandmates seem as cool as he is.

  2. LeighKat permalink
    December 17, 2009 2:29 am

    I am totally laughing at the attempt that is being made to drum up controversy on Kris.
    He makes a comment to a TMZ pap about Katy having nightmares re: Tiger and infidelity. “The Examiner” tries to make that into a story. Fox 16 asks about it in interview today- apparently, fans on facebook asked if his comment was some indication of “tension” in their relationship. What a bunch of idiots.
    I am sure Kris is kicking himself for even saying it.

    • lauren722 permalink
      December 17, 2009 5:54 pm

      I know when I saw that, I knew they were going to make a big deal about it. Poor Kris 😦

      • TopIdol permalink
        December 17, 2009 5:58 pm

        I thought it was cute. I can’t believe they’re even discussing it since they don’t give a rat’s ass about HBD.

        HA HA HA HA

  3. deez permalink
    December 17, 2009 2:14 am

    Kris and the band appeared to be sporting Tard-made Xmas sweaters on Letterman tonight. lol!!!!

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 17, 2009 2:24 am

      Kris Allen. Just too damn likable.

      I’m no tard, but I will totally see him in concert. And I will whoop. Without irony.

  4. on the edge permalink
    December 16, 2009 2:42 pm

    Kris explains the whole getting punched by the MoB thing to Jim C…

    http://mjsbigblog.com/kris-allen-justin-bieber-punch-explained.htm

    This is hysterical! It’s like Kris and Jim are just old buddies now, constantly poking fun at each other.

    • deez permalink
      December 16, 2009 3:15 pm

      I found this link in the comments section of your link:

      http://www.tmz.com/videos?autoplay=true&mediaKey=9732f569-2ec7-4c75-9ad0-9bf633840f0e

      A few comments:

      “9. I bet he’s not happy about his album being the worst debut of any American Idol winner! It’s obvious the wrong person one! Boring Loser!

      Posted at 12:06PM on Dec 16th 2009 by andrea”

      (Andrea found the need to post this twice..in slightly different forms)

      “10. I racked my brains and for the life of me could not remember this guys name. Unlike Adam Lambert who remains quite memorable.

      Posted at 12:16PM on Dec 16th 2009 by Ian Ashton”

      Read more: http://www.tmz.com/2009/12/16/tiger-woods-syndrome-kris-allen-american-idol/#ixzz0ZsdF5LSP

      (If you can’t remember his name, how did you google it, and/or fail to READ the name in the other comments?)

      “15. i went off kris when he started bragging about eating kangaroos and wouldn’t stop tweeting about peeing and farting”

      (HUH? Yeah, when by “wouldn’t stop”, you mean “once”)

      “16. His album BOMBED. FAIL!! His music is worse than Jack Johnson’s. I can’t believe he compared himself to Michael Jackson lmaaaaaao. You’re nowhere NEAR Jacko Kris w t f are you deluded Kris?!

      Posted at 1:00PM on Dec 16th 2009 by Jack”

      (When did THAT happen? Cuz I don’t remember that)

      Glamberts’ alternate reality. I also don’t believe that “Ian” and “Jack” are guys, more like some 58 y/o granny. *SIGH*

      • LeighKat permalink
        December 17, 2009 2:25 am

        This,the purchasing of thousands of copies of anything Lambert related and the impulse attacks against anyone who has an opinion on Adam that does not equate him God- these things make me deeply dislike the Glamberts who participate in aforementioned activities.

      • lauren722 permalink
        December 17, 2009 7:34 am

        “I can’t believe he compared himself to Michael Jackson lmaaaaaao.”
        I was about to point out that I did see somewhere that Kris compared himself to Michael, but then I realized I read that in a fic. This person might have had a similar issue. It’s hard to keep straight what is true in the fanfic world and what is true in the real world :/

  5. blacklisted permalink
    December 15, 2009 1:26 am

    I’m not giving Justin Beiber the benefit of the doubt.

    • deez permalink
      December 15, 2009 2:09 am

      The NY Times was NOT amused:

      http://www.nytimes.com/2009/12/14/arts/music/14ball.html

      • December 15, 2009 2:24 am

        Who is responsible for inflicting this kid on us all? What have we done to deserve it? I really never thought I would appreciate the Jonas Bros. or Taylor Swift, but the Moppet makes them look like legends.

      • Mithra permalink
        December 15, 2009 11:45 am

        Funny review, and spot on. I love how they still do the “Mr.” thing. Calling him “Mr. Bieber” is just as silly as calling Meatloaf “Mr. Loaf” 😀

        I still think the moppet’s fans as no older than 8. 12 year olds would go for guys in their late teens and who look their age. The only Idol exception I’ve seen was that they liked Gaspy, and even though he was 17, he looked 12. But Idol makes people crazy.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        December 15, 2009 9:14 pm

        ouch.

    • 12cubed permalink
      December 15, 2009 7:53 am

      I’m not giving Justin Beiber the benefit of the doubt.

      I really don’t understand his appeal. If I were a tween I’d be fangirling HBD instead.

    • LeighKat permalink
      December 15, 2009 4:10 pm

      BLAME CANADA

      • lauren722 permalink
        December 15, 2009 4:37 pm

        Haha everyone always says that Canada sucks without ever having a legitimate reason. Now they do. I can just imagine…

        American: “Canada Sucks!”
        Canadian: “No, the US sucks!”
        American: “Beiber came from your country! OWNED!”

        • LeighKat permalink
          December 15, 2009 8:49 pm

          Haha! I love Canada- lived there for 6 years but, they must apologise to the entire world for Beiber.

      • wino permalink
        December 15, 2009 7:11 pm

        ahhh, ok, that explains the blandness and bad vocals.

  6. 12cubed permalink
    December 15, 2009 12:22 am

    LMAO at the girly-tween scream that Cale lets out when Kris mentions the Biebernator.

  7. Smartie permalink
    December 14, 2009 11:20 pm

    HOMOPHOBE!

  8. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    December 14, 2009 11:15 pm

    HBD is adorable, as long as you keep your eyes away from THE GUNS. Also, as much as I appreciate the form-fitting outfits he’s into lately, Kris might want to consider wearing a bra with that Henley.

    But yeah, he’s getting very comfortable with the banter. Considering that months ago he said he wasn’t very comfortable about performing in smaller settings, he seems really at ease now.

    • deez permalink
      December 14, 2009 11:41 pm

      “Kris might want to consider wearing a bra with that Henley.”

      (Would that be the “bro” or the “mansierre”? LOl. )
      Either way, the answer is “NO”; we need more pecs… not less…anyway, I was too distracted by Cale. I think he and HBD have been around each other too much, their speaking voices DO sound very much alike. (I think someone here pointed that out once before).

      • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
        December 15, 2009 12:57 am

        Doesn’t that happen when two people hang out with each other a lot? I know my friends and I do pick up each other’s phrases and habits sometimes.

        As to the pecs, HBD should just save everyone *cough*deez*cough* the trouble and just be caught shirtless. Just once. 🙂

        • blacklisted permalink
          December 15, 2009 1:24 am

          You forgot pantless, although shirtless is a start.

          • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
            December 15, 2009 1:50 am

            I didn’t, I think I kind of prefer him in pants. Or boardshorts if he’s planning to hit the beach. Maybe he’s a never-nude!

            • blacklisted permalink
              December 15, 2009 2:33 am

              You only prefer HBD with pants because he has child bearing hips. That makes you a homophobe!

      • LeighKat permalink
        December 15, 2009 4:09 pm

        There are some ‘Kris at the beach with friends’ pics floating around the internet. From a some years back but, still lovely to look at 🙂

        T.I. Didn’t you have those pics somewhere, or was it just the ones with Kris and cups filled with mysterious contents. You must be dissapointed. He mentione drecently that he’s not a big drinker.

        • TopIdol permalink
          December 15, 2009 6:21 pm

          Yeah. Sucks, doesn’t it?

          Do a search for Kris Allen…should be March 2008? Maybe February.

          • deez permalink
            December 15, 2009 6:41 pm

            Of course, he could be making nice for the hometown folks. He WAS kind of on the spot there. There was a story somewhere about him getting spotted in a hotel bar with Megan and Matt, I think. Maybe not an alcoholic…lol…but I don’t believe he’s a teetotaler either. (if you ever get an interview offer him a Captain & Coke!)

  9. December 14, 2009 11:14 pm

    Kris is hilarious. I loved the showering banter and everything. That event was awesome; it gaves us “Have Yourself A Merry Little Xmas”

    Which if you haven’t seen, you should go educate yourself:

  10. 8sourcandy permalink
    December 14, 2009 10:13 pm

    He likes Adam, so yes he does have good taste in friends. 🙂

    I am thinking positively. They WILL play NYC!

    • lauren722 permalink
      December 14, 2009 11:30 pm

      Haha Allison too! Kradison ftw!
      Yes! I might have a chance then! Stupid Baltimore isn’t even in the running.

      • TopIdol permalink
        December 14, 2009 11:38 pm

        This photo makes me want to cry. (I also can’t stand Usher.)

        http://twitpic.com/teu9k

        • lauren722 permalink
          December 14, 2009 11:40 pm

          I might go cut myself now. The moppet and Usher?!? Why Obama why?

          • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
            December 15, 2009 12:11 am

            He might as well give up that Nobel Peace Prize because shit is about to go down!

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          December 15, 2009 12:34 am

          I am sorry, that is just wrong.

        • erinnthered permalink
          December 15, 2009 2:19 am

          Please tell me the Obama girls haven’t moved on to MoB. Please.

          • wino permalink
            December 15, 2009 7:09 pm

            when did Usher become relevant again? im guessing one of the obama girls likes the fetus….I’ll give them a pass, I used to like Macho Man Randy Savage as a little girl, and Rock Hudson. Go figure.

            • TopIdol permalink
              December 15, 2009 8:18 pm

              When I was 12-13, and all the other girls were tarding over NKOTB, I developed a massive crush on Alec Baldwin.

  11. LeighKat permalink
    December 14, 2009 10:10 pm

    The audience for the win!

    Now, back to Kristarding- I thoroughly enjoyed this entire set. Fun, laid back vibe, good vocals and clear video. The lady who recorded all the vids is now a superstar on twitter- hehe. Other banter included things like not showering.

    I love these guys.

Leave a Reply

