Skip to content

Me pimping out other stuff you may or may not be interested in

December 14, 2009

You may have seen me mention Shoestring Magazine before–its a fantastic online magazine all about living the good life for less. Since it began a little over a year ago, I’ve written two articles, one about the best coupon websites and another about the best sample sale sites (I think this number has probably tripled since I wrote the article in Fall 2008).

In any case, if you’re not a member of these sites and you want to be, let me invite you. I’m a big fan of Gilt Groupe, but Hautelook is right up there with them and Ideeli continues to expand their offerings. Signing up is free, but it gives you access to all the daily sales and that crap. It might be a great place to do some Xmas shopping, as nearly all of these offer a variety of men’s, women’s and children apparel, but also accessories, housewares and other luxury items.

Since I have a day off from work at the moment, I thought I would spend a little time perusing these websites in a pathetic attempt at holiday shopping (I typically just end up buying for myself whenever I try and do concentrated shopping this time of year.) and it occurred to me, gee, I could just link it here and maybe some of my readers, if they haven’t already, would like to sign up.

Here ya go!

Ideeli

Hautelook

Gilt Groupe

Rue La La

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Natasha permalink
    December 17, 2009 1:29 pm

    Thanks for the money-saving tips & sites. I always love a bargain!

  2. girl from mars permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:13 pm

    Oh hell yes, thank you. I just won a pair of Joe’s jeans and a pair of Juicy Couture jeans (don’t laugh, they fit me really well) on ebay for under $100 total and I really want to continue my bargain roll.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 15, 2009 11:44 pm

      Sign up for HauteLook and Gilt. They’re soooo much better than Rue. Trust me. (And I swear you will want to gouge your eyes out when you read most things on that site.)

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        December 15, 2009 11:57 pm

        Is it premature to start planning what to wear to the “AI Top Three” concert in NYC?

  3. erinnthered permalink
    December 15, 2009 1:01 am

    Ooooh, thanks, and thanks for the coupon sites article. I’m finding I need them a lot more out here.

    I need to get back on Fatwallet now that I’m in a major city again. I never used to pay to see movies.

  4. LeighKat permalink
    December 14, 2009 8:31 pm

    Do these site do international or are they US based only?

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 14, 2009 8:37 pm

      They are intl. I just got something I ordered from Gilt late last week, a cropped black jacket thingey from Marc by Marc Jacobs (only $138…down from $400 and something?) that I bought b/c I need black “business formal” attire for Vienna next month.

      I don’t even go on them everyday, and I think I order something maybe once every 4-6 months? But you can still find some good stuff. I don’t care for Rue La La very much, but they did offer a nice $20 credit for whatever reason last week so I ordered a pair of jeans. Their selection is nothing compared to the others, especially Gilt and HauteLook.

  5. 8sourcandy permalink
    December 14, 2009 7:42 pm

    cool 🙂

  6. Trish permalink
    December 14, 2009 2:48 pm

    Did you see that the NY Times wrote an article about all those same sites last week???

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/12/07/technology/internet/07private.html?scp=1&sq=ideeli&st=cse

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 14, 2009 2:54 pm

      So I was a year ahead of them? Ha. SWEET!

Leave a Reply

