Skip to content

David Cook sings the National Anthem

December 20, 2009

Today, birthday boy David Cook sang the National Anthem before the Chiefs-Browns matchup in K.C.’s Arrowhead Stadium.

Chiefs fans are kind of whacked, with a fervent devotion to their team on par with Green Bay. I finally met Chiefs fans when I went to college and they are some of the most devoted fans I’ve ever met. I have nothing against them or the Chiefs whatsoever, but I always feel as if Kansas City folk are too obsessed with football that they forget about the fact they have an MLB team. Honestly…I just wrote all that because it always goes through my mind when I see the Chiefs play. It probably bored you silly. My apologies.

Happy birthday, David Cook. You’re now 27. 27 is a great age. Enjoy it. I hope you have spent the day enjoying football, family and friends. I feel better knowing you are far, far, far away from the likes of Maryann/Holly Sockpuppets and obviously, that Celine chick, whom is still burning up the Twitter with her special brand of loony.

Celineps1 @nealfingtiemann all the booze in the land will not wash the blood off those immaculate hands. May you never sleep again.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 10:50 am

    David, we miss your brother. May he RIP. Continue your cause to fight brain cancer. God bless.

  2. rehabilitard permalink
    December 22, 2009 10:56 am

    Wow.. It was David’s Birthday? I didn’t even know and he is my favorite Idol contestant. It looks like I don’t have a tard bone in my body.

  3. cinemaniac86 permalink
    December 22, 2009 12:53 am

    What *is* Celine talking about? Did she menstruate all over poor Neal’s hands?

    Haha, she rhymed though ♥.

  4. Brett permalink
    December 21, 2009 1:36 pm

    Oh this was nice. Great voice, no shenanigans. I’m liking Cook more and more all the time. That so rarely happens with the Idolettes. I generally peak in my interest in them the moment the confetti falls, and it’s all downhill from there. Cook I like. And those shades are killer. Boy is looking fetch. And yes I will continue to try to make “fetch” happen for as long as TPTB try to make Adam Lambert happen.

  5. nobunnyearshere permalink
    December 21, 2009 11:54 am

    Wow. I’m a Canuck and thought that was pretty damn awesome. I actually got chills up my spine listening and watching and not from the snow that lambasted us too.

    Let me add my good wishes for David Cook’s birthday, especially the wish for restraining orders against the likes of HollySockPuppets, Krunkie Svagina, kristin, angie and the rest of the stalker whackjobs. Dude has a huge heart and I love that so many people donated to the brain tumour association. I may have done so as well. But you can’t prove it.

    Tomorrow is Nealfingtiemann’s birthday, so expect that Celine will go into whackjob overdrive. (pops popcorn and settles back expectantly.)

    • nonna-muss permalink
      December 21, 2009 5:22 pm

      No one can prove that I donated either. There is also no proof that I am planning to Race for the Cure in May with my son. We lost a dear family member to brain cancer this year.

      If you got chills from that version, check this one out (Dave and his brother Andrew). They don’t start singing until about 2:45.

    • Cooks_FUFL permalink
      December 21, 2009 9:11 pm

      Angie recorded this video, so she stalked him to a FOOTBALL GAME too. He did a good job singing the NA this time, much better than during the NBA finals right after he won Idol (that was a painful performance.

      It would be nice if his stalkers made a New Year’s Resolution to STOP, but that won’t happen. Look at the list of some of his “team members” for the Race for Hope, and you will find quite a few of them. I’d love to see folks like Daina Fullmer try to run a 5k. I hope people there know CPR!

      And the drama in effed up fan land continues, as people are upset that Carrie Underwood is actually engaged to (gasp!) ANOTHER MAN! I know Holly Sockpuppets is very, very upset at this news.

      • TopIdol permalink
        December 21, 2009 9:32 pm

        Who is Angie?

        • nonna-muss permalink
          December 21, 2009 9:56 pm

          Angie lives in KC but has been to as many shows as the front row crew. She’s the one who was selling DVD’s of her vids to fund her tour expenses. I think I’ve seen her at each and every one of the shows I’ve been to in my area….you know….where I live. Not across the continental United States. Last week Cook did a local event in KC. Apparently Angie couldn’t go or something. The Cooktard’s on twitter were consoling her bad luck. Awww, poor Angie. She missed an opportunity to stalk him. She’s also gone to concerts that Cook is attending, not even performing. Sickos.

  6. nonna-muss permalink
    December 21, 2009 7:34 am

    He really did a good job. Yes, his loyalty to his teams seems to be unwavering. Last year he and his brother Andrew sang the NA for a Chiefs game, quite lovely with beautiful harmonization. I’d also like to add that he tweeted that if anyone wanted to give him a birthday gift to donate to his favorite charity http://www.braintumorcommunity.org I watched as the donations for his “team” climbed from $4,000 and change to over $25,000. Pretty damn good (and smart of him).

    Happy birthday Dave.

  7. WooAmanda permalink
    December 21, 2009 1:50 am

    I really like the fact that David Cook didn’t try to make this song into another Idol tryout…inserting every note he can hit just because he can hit them. I truly hate it when this song dissolves into an audition tape for the singer. To me, that’s not at all what the song is. My favorite ever performance of the SSB was by *gasp* Toni Tennille. She sang it strong and proud and didn’t have to add all the OTT shit that ruins the performance for me every time.

    OK so Kansas City has sucky baseball AND football teams. I maybe kind of understand the undying loyalty because I’m a Chicago fan. Loyalty can never be a bad thing IMO.

    • erinnthered permalink
      December 21, 2009 4:33 am

      It is very nice to hear the song straight up. I’m partial to the Marvin Gaye version, though. He did jazz it up a bit, but not in a big, glory note kinda way. A sort of understated smoothness.

      I keep hearing about that Toni Tennille version, but I’ve never been able to find video of it. Given that it has so many fans, you’d think someone would have put it on YT by now.

  8. Smartie permalink
    December 21, 2009 12:05 am

    I wonder if Maryann sent him a lovely gift.

  9. freedavidcook permalink
    December 20, 2009 11:32 pm

    He can sing even if there were a few sorta pitchy notes in there.. Happy birthday Cook, and get some lovely restraining orders for your bday present.

  10. StopHurtsEars permalink
    December 20, 2009 11:04 pm

    Aahhh that Cook is such a goob. He does love the Chiefs irrationally. I am not a football fan and I hear tell they suck. But still he loves them. And Cook is aware of the MLB but he loves the losing team again. No Cardinals for him. It’s the Royals instead. Well ya can’t fault him on loyalty. But still…..

    Oh yeah. He can sing. Although he and the NA have a love hate relationship.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 20, 2009 11:32 pm

      Cook does like the Royals. He’s one of 10 people I’ve ever seen in a Royals hat…and I lived 23 years of my life in Missouri.

      Ha. But you won’t ever see a Royals hat in St. Louis.

  11. deez permalink
    December 20, 2009 10:49 pm

    Well, it’s no surprise that people who live in KC should forget they have a baseball team. The Royals are pretty much a AAA club at this point. (except for Greinke…who won’t be wasted there too much longer)

    Oh and Happy B’day to DC!

  12. lauren722 permalink
    December 20, 2009 10:44 pm

    So I thought you had finally made a nice cute post…and then I read the last line. What does that even mean?

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 20, 2009 11:31 pm

      Are you saying NONE of my posts are ever cute and nice? 😉

Leave a Reply

