Skip to content

RIP Brittany Murphy

December 20, 2009
tags:

Actress Brittany Murphy died, discovered by her mother in her home this morning after suffering severe cardiac arrest. Weird. And very sad. She was my age. After reading this shocking piece of news, the first thing I thought of was that she was just lampooned on SNL’s Weekend Update last Saturday.

Abby Elliott (daughter of Chris Elliott) did the impression, which I thought was a bit odd since I had not heard anything about Brittany Murphy in forever…oddly prescient, I suppose, but any moment of SNL in which I am not forced to suffer through Kristen Wiig’s existence is okay by me.

RIP Brittany Murphy. I hope wherever you are, you’re rollin’ with the homies.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. wino permalink
    December 23, 2009 4:06 pm

    sad that she needed to take so many different meds to remain happy…and skinny. i know plenty of girls who have turned to prescriptive meds to loose weight (or even coke)…and the “weight” in question is alway something trivial. Like needing to go down from a size 6 or 4 to a 2 or 0. RIP Little Hommie.

  2. Sherena permalink
    December 22, 2009 3:54 am

    So prescription drugs takes another one… just like MJ and Heath Ledger. This is why I try not to take very many prescription drugs, because dependencies are freakily easy to get…

  3. Mithra permalink
    December 21, 2009 12:22 am

    Okay, something REALLY WEIRD happened while I ws typing my post. It suddenly went to a scaryboard page (AI official) and I have no idea why. Top Idol, you have some splainin’ to do? Are you some double agent for Simon and Simon? Member of the Illuminati? WTF just happened?

    I’ll try the post again. I think I have a copy of Girl, Interrupted laying around here. I’ll see if I can find it again and watch it. Excellent film. RIP Brittney Murphy.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 21, 2009 12:41 am

      While Angelina Jolie won an Oscar for her performance in Girl, Interrupted, the one thing I have always remembered more clearly than anything else is Brittany Murphy’s character. Eating chicken. Eat-in kitchen.

      • erinnthered permalink
        December 21, 2009 4:19 am

        That chicken thing was so creepy. It always got to me.

      • cinemaniac86 permalink
        December 22, 2009 12:58 am

        Yes, Murphy stole that movie, imo. I don’t remember Drop Dead Gorgeous too well (saw it before I evolved into a true film fanatic); but I do remember her saving Don’t Say a Word from being a complete waste of time.

        I’m happy to report that I’m dorky enough to have my own personal film awards, and Brittany wins Best Supporting Actress for Girl, Interrupted :).

        I also learned via IMDb that she won a voice acting Annie Award for her work on King of the Hill, as Luanne the niece (I believe), so yay for that.

  4. Smartie permalink
    December 21, 2009 12:04 am

    She was wonderful in Drop Dead Gorgeous. Really sad news. 😦

  5. freedavidcook permalink
    December 20, 2009 11:26 pm

    So sad. Drugs were my first thought too but later I heard her mother told the paramedics that she was diabetic and not well controlled with the disease. Who knows. I loved some of the quirky weird characters she played.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 20, 2009 11:33 pm

      She just seemed like such a sweetheart. It’s so sad.

      I think the husband had something to do with it. He appears to be very shady.

      • LeighKat permalink
        December 20, 2009 11:48 pm

        Very Sad, how awful that her mother found her. She must be destroyed.

      • erinnthered permalink
        December 21, 2009 4:14 am

        That seems a reasonable suspicion. I first heard of him a few weeks ago, and the whole thing seemed so creepy. Not sure what she saw in him. Heard nothing but good things about her too.

        So terrible. I can’t believe she was younger than me, if only by a few months. I loved King of the Hill, and she really did some good voice work for the show.

        • Steph permalink
          December 21, 2009 8:57 am

          I guess what weirds me out is the fact that her husband didn’t want an autopsy done….why the heck not? It’s like saying I’ve got something to hide…

          I never saw the attraction between the two of them, but who am I to say anything when I don’t know either one, but it just..it didn’t fit

          She was just so dang bubbly. I remember seeing her for the first time as “Sarah” on a few random episodes of “Sister Sister” back in the day. Then shortly after that I watched Clueless. I watched a lot of her movies and I always thought she was good in them.

          I just can’t get over her mother being the one to find her.

  6. blacklisted permalink
    December 20, 2009 11:26 pm

    Poor girl. I know there were long time rumors about drug use (from prescription to illegal drugs) but I hoped she was getting herself together. Sad.

  7. deez permalink
    December 20, 2009 10:40 pm

    The SNL thing was very odd and out of the blue. When I saw that last week, I wondered if I had missed something. If that episode re-airs, I hope they have the tact to cut that skit.
    I always feel so weird when someone younger than I am dies. Tragic.

  8. Steph permalink
    December 20, 2009 9:53 pm

    One of my favorite lines from Clueless was when Tai tells Cher that “You’re a virgin who can’t drive” I love that quote.

    So sad. I wasn’t her number one fan, but I liked a lot of movies she was in and Clueless was my obsession when I was younger.

    She was only a couple years older than me too.

    😦

  9. auntieaimee permalink
    December 20, 2009 9:10 pm

    Drugs, probably. What a shame.

  10. December 20, 2009 6:54 pm

    OMG ME AND MY FRIENDS WERE ALSO BEING ALL SAD WITH ROLLIN WITH THE HOMIES.
    Sorry.
    But Clueless was so awesomely dumb. =(
    My sister just told me about this on the phone like 2 hours ago… “So I got the Glee CDs for Chanukah and oh yeah Brittany Murphy’s dead.”
    The tact of a 16-year-old. There it is.

  11. houstondivas permalink
    December 20, 2009 6:31 pm

    I have no idea what you just said. But I am looking for news on her death. How sad.

Leave a Reply

