Skip to content

Matt Giraud’s 4AM — New Song!

December 23, 2009

American Idol’s Season 7 fifth-place finisher Matt Giraud (aka Quatto Host) recently tweeted that he’s written a brand new song…attached with a YouTube link!

MY NEW SONG- 4AM Written by myself and JT Harding. Let me know what ya’ll think

4Am, written with JT Harding, isn’t bad. As I’ve said, I would have no problem seeing Giraud dominate the piano in small venues. When I caught the Idol Tour stop in Boston last August, his performance surprised me more than any other contestant. I had no idea I would like it as much as I did and thought he had improved tenfold since being on the show.

Now, Matty G, can you tell me what’s going on with Quatto? Does he ever talk about me? I miss him so.

37 Comments leave one →
  1. deez permalink
    December 25, 2009 1:41 am

    Happy White Christmas!!…it is snowing like a sonofabitch everywhere. (judging from the Weather Channel map)

    • erinnthered permalink
      December 25, 2009 3:14 am

      Not so much in LA. 😦

      Actually, looks like Dallas might get a white Christmas, so I know a lot of my family there are happy. πŸ™‚

      • deez permalink
        December 25, 2009 12:01 pm

        Does it ever snow in SoCal?

        • wino permalink
          December 28, 2009 11:54 pm

          the only white stuff around here is coke…you have to drive to big bear for snow.

  2. December 24, 2009 4:21 am

    Found a few holiday themed vids from top three idols. First two are fan vids the last is just Allison singing Holiday at Jingle Ball which I hadnt heard but rocks.

    We had Silver Pants – now Deck the Balls!

    Not forgetting HBD:

    Allison:

    DAMN!!!!
    Ok, ok. Christmas has made me all gooey, so I will post this in spirit of goodwill to all etc. Tho if you can get through the whole 7.08 mins then you are truly blessed with an indestructible constitution – ADVICE best watched before turkey, mince pies and sherry!

    HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO ALL! πŸ™‚

    • deez permalink
      December 24, 2009 11:13 am

      Damn you, Lamberkitten!!!! Thank God I was able to click the back button quickly, and it was only seen and not heard, lol!!! But I did take your advice…I had not eaten before checking that link! Happy Holidays to you!!!!!!11!!!!!

      • December 24, 2009 3:57 pm

        LOL! Yeay eleventy!!!!11!!!!. Happy holidays to you too πŸ™‚

        • TopIdol permalink
          December 24, 2009 6:07 pm

          It’s Xmas in Britain! Happy Xmas, Lamberkitten!

          • December 24, 2009 7:24 pm

            Hey TI! Just checking in between watching 4 weddings and funeral on tv and desperately wanting to watch either Bridget Jones or Love Actually on dvd next – tho hubby complaining of fatigue! Only so many romcoms a man can take! But according to my clock have bout 40 mins to go to midnight. But thanks for the shout out and happy xmas to you and all my fave US folks πŸ™‚ x

            • 8sourcandy permalink
              December 25, 2009 10:10 pm

              I love all of those movies. πŸ™‚

    • Lauren permalink
      December 24, 2009 12:09 pm

      Why Lamberkitten, WHY?!
      The first ones were cute though πŸ˜€

      • December 24, 2009 4:01 pm

        Sorry to upset your system with the Gokey – will prescribe a dose of Deck the Balls at regular intervals for complete recovery. Happy holidays Lauren πŸ™‚

        • Lauren permalink
          December 24, 2009 4:08 pm

          Haha! The perfect medicine! The antidote for Gokey is Adam!
          Happy Holidays to you too ❀

  3. December 24, 2009 2:53 am

    Ho Ho Ho!!!!!!!! Merry Christmas guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Lauren permalink
    December 24, 2009 1:29 am

    Hey its officially Christmas Eve! Merry Christmas to all!

    • deez permalink
      December 24, 2009 1:44 am

      Merry Christmas Guys!!!!!

  5. 8sourcandy permalink
    December 23, 2009 4:57 pm

    Happy Holidays Everyone!!!

    • Lauren permalink
      December 23, 2009 7:02 pm

      How cute! I must say, I truly enjoyed when Kradam nailed Danny and he fell over.

    • erinnthered permalink
      December 24, 2009 1:23 am

      That’s adorable! Yeah, Kradam nailing Danny was the highlight.

      Happy holidays, 8sourcandy.

  6. AIFan permalink
    December 23, 2009 3:31 pm

    He is a nice guy and it pains me to say it, but the song is crap. There is no melody there (I could not make out the lyrics). He is talented, but no more talented than so many before him who were not signed. So, I can’t say that he deserves to be signed, but then Michael Sarver and Lil got signed, so miracles do happen.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 23, 2009 5:01 pm

      I don’t really count Lil and Sarver as being signed, per se. Isn’t Sarver on a church label?

      Being “signed” is really sort of not a huge bunch of anything, in a lot of ways, especially with all the zillion record companies out there. And how some indie labels aren’t indie, etc. It’s rather chaotic.

      Lil is signed to Bungalo, the same label as Patti LaBelle, Heavy D, and LaToya Jackson. I had no idea LaToya had a contract with anyone. Bungalo is an indie label owned by Universal Music Group.

      Sarver signed with Dream Records, part of the Dream Center Church he and Gokey attended while in Los Angeles. Dream Records is part of something called Fontana Distribution, which is also part of UMG. Fontana appears to run over 7 labels.

      See? It’s all so complicated! Where is that Q3 person and Holly Sockpuppets when I need them? I sooo need them to look up additional information on Wiki to pass off as music insider knowledge to me.

      • AIFan permalink
        December 23, 2009 5:07 pm

        Being signed is not a guarantee of success by any means (I certainly don’t expect Sarver or Lil to be in any way successful), but not being signed is a guarantee of a quick trip to oblivion. Other than Elliot Yamin (whose cousin is a big shot in the business), I can’t think of any unsigned Idol who has even a half-way decent recording career. They do other things – musical theater, etc., but recording artists they aren’t.

        • TopIdol permalink
          December 23, 2009 5:09 pm

          Agreed. Of course, the Idol I can think of who actually did a “real” indie record was Walking VD. He created is own label…probably b/c even a small indie label wouldn’t touch his shit.

          • AIFan permalink
            December 23, 2009 5:15 pm

            Yeah, the walking VD is semi-successful on Broadway, but I think he only sold 25,000 or so CD’s on his own label. And that’s with a worldwide exposure he received on his soap opera !

            • Smartie permalink
              December 23, 2009 6:52 pm

              Took two years to shift that much dreck. His frauen bought it, no one else.

              Quatto needs to be signed. No one needs yet another fugly white boy pretending to be black, we are awash with fugly mediocre white boys thanks.

  7. Lauren permalink
    December 23, 2009 3:03 pm

    I have nothing new to add. SIGN MATT GIRAUD DAMMIT!!!!

  8. wino permalink
    December 23, 2009 2:54 pm

    Ive always liked his voice and overall vibe. Initially, i thought it would be he, not kris, who would put the Go in Gokey and give Adam a run for his money. In a recent interview, kris said matt’s music is the one he mostly relates to….doesnt surprise me, considering their awesome White Chocolate routine and closeness in hollywood wk. His music is very jamie cullum, great observation auntie. Seriously, if Gokey, Lil, AND Sarver has been signed, WTF cant Matt?

  9. Full Tilt permalink
    December 23, 2009 2:45 pm

    I like the song, and he has improved enormously over his Idol performances. I agree with the above poster who said he came off kind of nervous and twitchy on the show, though I always found him likeable. Has he been signed? I have a hard time keeping up these days, but if Lil and Michael Sarver got contracts, this guy certainly deserves one.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 23, 2009 2:58 pm

      I bet he would get a contract tomorrow if he would let Quatto do the negotiations.

    • AIFan permalink
      December 23, 2009 3:26 pm

      No, he has not been signed.

  10. December 23, 2009 2:34 pm

    I actually love this. Love it. I hope he puts out a cd that is Jason Mraz-like, I’d buy it.

  11. auntieaimee permalink
    December 23, 2009 1:17 pm

    I like this song. It’s got a bit of a Jamie Cullum vibe to it. I think Matt’s tremendously talented. When he was on the show I think the pressure got to him and he came off kind of twitchy and nervous, but he seems like a really funny dude. The bubbletweets he sent while on tour were great (remember the one with he and Kris busking before a show? And the ones with Upside-down Adam? They were pretty damn funny).

    • deez permalink
      December 23, 2009 2:14 pm

      Matt is a cool dude, I always thought if Kris didn’t catch on, that he and Matt could do “White Chocolate”.

  12. 8sourcandy permalink
    December 23, 2009 4:56 am

    He did mention the mole once. If I can recall the interview I will let you know. He plays the piano very well, I just don’t like the way he sings.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 23, 2009 11:31 am

      I posted an excerpt of it, I believe. One of those AINow.org things…whoever they are, as they simply sprung up in the past few months and are now trying to be everywhere.

  13. Smartie permalink
    December 23, 2009 3:46 am

    WE DEMAND QUATTO!

Leave a Reply

