Skip to content

Happy New Year from Top Idol!

January 1, 2010

It is now 2010 (not 1956, but hey…I thought it would be the PERFECT photo to ring in the new year). But first, I want to thank all of you who actually read this blog and continuing to do so in 2009. You have no idea how much it means to me and how much I love you all. I swear! I don’t care if I sound like a cliche, it’s 100% true! I’m still shocked anyone reads my drivel, so from the bottom of my icy hater heart, THANK YOU!!! Thank you for making 2009 such an amazing year. I can’t wait to see what is in store for 2010. Just think, in only 2 weeks, we will be turning our attention to Season 9 of American Idol.

Happy, happy, happy new year. I wish you and yours happiness and wealth and love and success and all the bullshit you find on cheapo beaded bracelets sold in generic gift shops. I wish that you never get stuck in an elevator with a cadre of overzealous Glamberts. I wish for you more opportunities to watch Jon Hamm. I wish that you never use the same toilet as Constantine Maroulis. I wish that you one day end up sitting next to Kris Allen on a plane and are forced to share a copy of Sky Mall. I wish that you never get trampled at a David Cook show. I wish that you will throw a party with Paula Abdul in attendance and that she mistakenly leaves her pillbox behind. I wish that you never have to fight over the last pastry against a Claymate. I wish that you one day meet La Princesa del Mariachi and, in fact, call her La Princesa del Mariachi. I wish that you are never stuck in a Lens Crafters with Danny Gokey. And I wish that you are one day lucky enough to have a deep, one-on-one conversation over a fine Proseco with the next decade’s true sage, Quatto the Mole.

But most of all, I wish that you smile, each and every day, out of both genuine sentiment AND schadenfreude.

Oh, and that you ALWAYS Live Like You’re Dying. (Hey, it seemed to perfect NOT to slip in, ya know? Plus, it’s been in my head since I played black jack last night. My last dealer of the night was grooving in his seat to it as it played overhead. Totally grooving in his seat. I think I even lost 3 hands while it played, but I still smiled because here was this black jack dealer, an older Bosnian man, dealing black jack and almost-unconsciously grooving to Kris Allen. It’s the little things, ya know? The little things always make me smile.)

25 Comments leave one →
  1. LeighKat permalink
    January 4, 2010 9:48 pm

    So, sooooo late on this! I am only now back from the vacation I took to nurse my hurt over not receiving a leopard print Snuggie for Christmas!

    Happy New Year to you TI!! I see that I have much to catch up on and I sincerely look forward to another year supporting your site! You are my “Sultan of Snark”

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 4, 2010 9:59 pm

      I MISSED YOU!!!!

      Oh, Leigh. I found something better than a leopard-print Snuggie. (Plus, the Slanket is the only one that’s Sky Mall-approved, anyway)

      I have no idea why, but I love it.

      http://www.theslanket.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=23

      (It’s called: Walk the Slank)

      • LeighKat permalink
        January 4, 2010 10:11 pm

        Wow! and this is why I love you! Where the hell do you find this shit?! hahaha. The accompanying blurb below the pic is just priceless. I am totally considering buying this because it will be my way of sticking it to the creator of the Snuggie AND proceeds go to a good cause.

  2. MrPink permalink
    January 2, 2010 2:50 pm

    Happy new year to you, TI! Thanks for the laughs in 2009 and hope that there will be many more in 2010!

  3. 8sourcandy permalink
    January 2, 2010 11:37 am

    Happy New Year!

  4. erinnthered permalink
    January 2, 2010 1:41 am

    Happy New Year all!

    I’ve never been so proud to support a homophobe such as you, TI. Good luck in the New Year!

  5. mustang permalink
    January 1, 2010 10:40 pm

    Another relative newbie here. Happy New Year! Looking forward to my first season of AI with TI.

  6. saskin permalink
    January 1, 2010 6:55 pm

    Happy new year TOPIDOL and everyone!

    (I’m looking forward to the new AI season since I discovered this blog. Thanks for being awesome!!!)

  7. Mysterioso permalink
    January 1, 2010 4:46 pm

    Happy New Year Homophobic Hater! :p

  8. Trish permalink
    January 1, 2010 4:33 pm

    Happy New Year, TI!!!! Hugs to Oskar too (even though I’m allergic to cat hair).

    But most of all, I wish that you smile, each and every day, out of both genuine sentiment AND schadenfreude.

    And THIS is what I love most about you. You’re the sweetest Mean Girl who ever did blog.

  9. Lauren permalink
    January 1, 2010 3:21 pm

    Happy New Year TI! Thanks for bringing joy and snark to a scary Idol world πŸ™‚

  10. SusieQ permalink
    January 1, 2010 3:15 pm

    That was some convoluted mess of New Year’s wishes. I see nothing wrong with getting stuck in a LensCrafters with Danny Gokey and in fact I rather like the idea of getting stuck with him ANYwhere.

    Peace out.

  11. on the edge permalink
    January 1, 2010 1:58 pm

    Happy 2010, TI! Glad I found your blog in 2009 and hope to enjoy for years to come.

    Alas, I won’t run into Kris Allen on a plane; this year I’m boycotting the airlines until they get their security shit together and taking the train.

  12. Nich permalink
    January 1, 2010 1:42 pm

    Happy New Year TI!

  13. pattyluponey permalink
    January 1, 2010 1:24 pm

    Happy New Year, Top Idol! Thanks for the lolz in 2009. Can’t wait for the new recaps!

    And since I’m from Kzoo and have many friends in common with Quatto’s Host, I may actually get the pleasure of that meaningful convo with Sir Quatto himself…if I ever do, you’ll be the first to know. πŸ™‚

  14. Full Tilt permalink
    January 1, 2010 12:40 pm

    Thanks for the New Years wishes, TopIdol! And the same to you and everyone else on this site! I hear the Lambert event last night was not televised or streamed anywhere but I’m sure there are videos galore made by the lame-oes in attendance. We’ll no doubt be subjected to these until such time as they have something new to replace them with. Love you guys!

  15. Kathy permalink
    January 1, 2010 12:14 pm

    Have a great New Year and thanks for a place to realize I was getting close to being a fantard and reigning it in lol I am only mildy a kristard now πŸ™‚ Does that mean I’m a homophobe?:):)

  16. Mithra permalink
    January 1, 2010 11:12 am

    Happy New Year! (You’re kinda pulling a Gokey though with the LLWD plug πŸ˜€ – he tweeted twice yesterday using his songs title while wishing a Happy New Year πŸ˜€ )

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 1, 2010 1:15 pm

      Yeah, but instead of heart hands, I’m giving you the finger right now πŸ˜‰

  17. Carlisle permalink
    January 1, 2010 11:06 am

    Happy New Year! Those are truly beautiful wishes.

  18. yuppie permalink
    January 1, 2010 9:15 am

    Happy New Year, you homophobic Kris-tard! We should all be so lucky as to end up on a plane next to Kris Allen and his SkyMall mag!

    Seriously, though (sort of), hope you have a great year, full of Idol lolz and good luck at the poker table.

    (Oh, and Happy New Year to Oskar, too, that pussy!)

  19. nonna-muss permalink
    January 1, 2010 8:54 am

    Happy New Year Top Idol. Hope you have a swanky one.

  20. January 1, 2010 7:26 am

    Thanks TI for a speshul and klassy post!!!!!1111!!!!! πŸ™‚ Happy New Year to you, and all!

  21. Smartie permalink
    January 1, 2010 5:48 am

    Happy New Year, homophobe πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

