Skip to content

What? No one ever considered Krorm?

January 4, 2010

Yes, I must confess. I flipped on tonight’s big American Idol Season 9 marathon on Fox Reality. It was the results show for Group 2 and I happened to flip it on during the big GROUP NUMBER.

Oh yes. If only hindsight was 20/20, I would have appreciated this SOOOOO much more last February (or March…or whenever they finally let them sing live).

Normund Gentle/Nick Mitchell and Kris Allen singing Ne Yo. Even Oskar curled up in my lap to watch. Such bright, shining stars, those two young talented men! Interestingly enough, the song pretty much put Adam Lambert and Matt Giraud (aka Quatto Host) front and center. Luckily, Nick/Normund and HBD still found ways to shine through in such a short mediocre performance of a stupid group number.

KRORM!!!!

Oh, Normund/Nick. I love you. And you did always gravitate to the cool kiddies, didn’t ya!

NORMISON!!!

42 Comments leave one →
  1. deez permalink
    January 6, 2010 1:07 am

    Just watched the Top 13 performances again. It’s so weird watching when you know the results. Kris really wasn’t very good that night. (and we got the classic Randyism”very well job done, baby!”) We were treated to the PYT Gokey SoulTrainwreck. The best part was watching Paula choke back tears as she was telling him he’d sail thru to finals (barf). Adam wasn’t quite as great as I remembered, but still was the best of the night…and CASPAR! I think if she’d have stuck around longer, I would’ve been more annoyed with her than with Gokey!

    *sigh* It’s a bad thing I read this and found out this was being shown again, it’s ridiculous and I’m going to watch it anyway.

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 6, 2010 1:15 am

      I (half) watched it too.

      Actually, I thought HBD and La Princesa were the standouts. Everyone else…meh.

      Still do not understand the panty creaming over Gokey.

      • deez permalink
        January 6, 2010 1:23 am

        Forgot about La Princesa, she may have outdone Adam that night…except for the “HoKays” lol!!

        • Pandora permalink
          January 6, 2010 1:30 pm

          Yeah, I thought Allison’s MJ performance was her best other than CryBaby. She kicked all kinds of ass that night.

      • Claire permalink
        January 6, 2010 1:53 pm

        At this point in the competition Princesa was the only one I really cared about. I had never heard that MJ song before, but I thought it was very fitting for her.

  2. deez permalink
    January 5, 2010 3:15 pm

    VFTW speculates Tim Urban may be Top 24…Kris 2.0? Didn’t you speculate TI, that there would be a whole slew of Adams and Krises?

  3. 8sourcandy permalink
    January 4, 2010 9:06 pm

    How many fucking groups are there? Who are these people? They SUCKKKK SOOOOO MUCHHHH!!!! What the fuck is a VON?

  4. lauren722 permalink
    January 4, 2010 5:00 pm

    I reject this post. Kris only belongs to Adam. No one else (however awesome) can split the two.

  5. Mylifeback permalink
    January 4, 2010 4:27 pm

    How young did Kris look last night? He truly was OLFIP. Except that he didn’t wear plaid.

    Paula was out of it last night and looked pissed every time Kara spoke, frequently turning to roll her eyes at Simon, Simon actually looked like he was enjoying himself, and Kara couldn’t shut her mouth. Interesting to see how the dynamics changed on the judges panel over the course of the year … or not as the case may be.

  6. wino permalink
    January 4, 2010 2:14 pm

    damn, what a difference a year makes in terms of styling for Kris. btw, group 2 pretty much rocked. i wish we could have just had the top ten from that bunched and dropped kicked the rest to the curb.

  7. julie permalink
    January 4, 2010 1:26 pm

    Nobody has video of that group number, do they? I don’t remember it at all. I do remember Ryan sticking Kris and Nick/Normund next to each other before going to commercial on results night and asking, “American, what have you done?”

    • yuppie permalink
      January 4, 2010 7:02 pm

      All the group numbers are at http://www.kris-pics.net/v/videos/idol/americanidolgroup/

      • deez permalink
        January 4, 2010 7:34 pm

        Gahhhh, I just rewatched that G7 Shake Your Body routine again…Man I wanted to punch Gokey during that. So MUCH HAM!!!! Now I think I’m go gonna rewatch ANS!! and probably Falling Slowly!

        • auntieaimee permalink
          January 4, 2010 7:54 pm

          I loved that Shake Your Body routine. I mean, it was totally “High School Musical”, but I loved it.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        January 4, 2010 9:08 pm

        DISCO WEEK was the BEST group #.

      • julie permalink
        January 4, 2010 11:20 pm

        Thanks! I’ve just relived the Kris part of season 8 by watching all of their videos. That was fun, plus I didn’t have to see Gokey and his goat-hip thrusting. Well, not much. It was in a group video. I looked away rather than embarrass both of us.

  8. Mithra permalink
    January 4, 2010 12:22 pm

    It’s really too bad that Idol seems to lock the top whatever into those contracts and that they OWN the option unil the end of August. They really kill momentum. If they have no intention of signing, why tie them up? Oh yeah, to pimp their chosen cast. Stupid. I think AI would have a better rep with more memorable alumni having decent careers instead of sabatoging them. Normund/Nick had quite the buzz and he could have used that to parlay himself into a decent career.

  9. kimberly permalink
    January 4, 2010 11:52 am

    My daughter loved Normund/Nick mostly because he was from Connecticut. He was on Better Connecticut last year with Scott Haney — hysterical together. I’m not sure what Nick is up to — maybe in Cali or NY? working on the career. She’s hoping for a CT Idol in the top 3 so she can go to the homecoming parade.

    Kris caught my eye during the group performance. He was so bubbly and hoppy and excuded such joy. He was having such a good time. They had a hard time making that kid canon fodder, he was far too irrepressible, though they did manage to tamp down some of his natural joy and enthusiasm over the course of the show.

    If I watch Idol this year, it’ll be with a more analytical eye, on the look-out for all the machinations. Even, as Top Idol pointed out, the oh-so-subtle featuring of Matt and Adam during the group performance. I remember reading a Matt G. twitter stating that Paula told him he was suppose to have won the whole thing. Of course he said, he was joking, but I’m certain they were pushing for Matt initially, along with Gokey, Lil and Lambert.

    Love me some Krick or Kromund. There’s a deeper appreciation on rewatch when you cann see things with a clearer eye, beyond the manipulative BS.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      January 4, 2010 12:15 pm

      Oh, absolutely. I’ve been watching it a loong time, and as a social experiment, the whole AI phenomenon is fascinating to me. I can’t wait for season 9!

    • Mylifeback permalink
      January 4, 2010 4:29 pm

      Bouncy Kris was adorbs last night.

  10. January 4, 2010 11:42 am

    Normund!!! He will always be MY American Idol. BTW, Normundy.com is coming back this season with a vengeance.

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 4, 2010 2:18 pm

      YAY!!! 🙂

      I love that man so much. Oh, Normund. I miss you so!

      • Lil Lulu permalink
        January 4, 2010 8:11 pm

        Ha! You got linked in not one, but TWO articles over there. The word is out. Top Idol love Normund.

  11. auntieaimee permalink
    January 4, 2010 8:40 am

    I love Nick/Normund!!!11!!! I was hoping he would get some acting gigs after his Idol run. He is great.

  12. Smartie permalink
    January 4, 2010 6:08 am

    Normund is love ❤

  13. yuppie permalink
    January 4, 2010 3:29 am

    I could be mistaken, but I think I read somewhere that Kris and Nick/Normund were roommates during the semifinals. Oh, the shenannigans they must have gotten up to! Somebody write the fanfiction!

    • kelanie permalink
      January 4, 2010 3:36 am

      Kris was laughing so hard when Norman/Nick was performing AIATY..ING the prior night. It was hilarious.

      • erinnthered permalink
        January 4, 2010 3:56 am

        See. Sense of humor. It goes a long way. Adam laughed too.

        I voted my fingers off for that man. Even with the bum note. He’s awesome.

  14. erinnthered permalink
    January 4, 2010 3:14 am

    I heart Normund Gentle more than words. I really want to see Nick do his thing live. That warms might heart. Krorm 4evah!

  15. Mysterioso permalink
    January 4, 2010 3:00 am

    Unless you can see into the future, I believe this was a Season 8 marathon.

  16. nerdgirl permalink
    January 4, 2010 2:44 am

    Well, it would be sparkle and plaid all over again …

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 4, 2010 2:49 am

      But nary a trace of foundation.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        January 4, 2010 7:10 pm

        So here’s what happened…
        I curled up for an encore presentation of the American Idol group 2 show. I was excited to relive that moment. The one that turned me from the normal, pre-tard I once was into what I have become…way OVER INVESTED. I didn’t realize, as I sat and watched one horrible performance after another, that I was watching group 3. (Why my FOX Reality TV channel aired a different episode than the one that was aired on every other FOX Reality TV channel is beyond me.) The very first time I saw the ‘group 2’ episode, I was at a Laundromat washing my big blankets. A couple that arrived before me put the show on. I did not pay attention until Adam appeared. The rest is history.

        Something about watching it again excited me. I think I wanted to go back to the scene of the crime and figure out how I got from there to here. I wanted to try to understand why I have allowed myself to become so ridiculous over all this nonsense. At 9:53, as they announced Danny Gokey, I realized that I had watched this crap for nothing. I also realized that had this been the episode I saw at the Laundromat last year, I would not be OVER INVESTED now! In fact, had that been the episode, it would have washed over me much in the same way the previous 7 seasons had. Of, course that means I would never have read Top Idol’s blogs or all the sassy comments from my fellow Top Idol-tards. (That’s my silver lining.)

        Going forward…Neil’s pompous tweet has made feel embarrassed for tarding in a way you have all FAILED to do. No, I never tried to befriend him on facebook, but I have tweeted him. I never tweeted something inappropriate, usually an answer to a question he posed. Yet, I do feel silly about it now. I will no longer follow him on twitter. I will no longer tweet anyone I don’t actually know and I will tard less in 2010. Those are my resolutions. Maybe I’ll take up knitting. 🙂

        • lauren722 permalink
          January 4, 2010 7:15 pm

          8sourcandy, you aren’t a tard! At least compared to me! I never watched Idol until my friend made me and now I’m obsessed. I tweet people I don’t know all the time. It’s just fun to talk with people who share your interests. Friending Neil on fb and asking to show him pic of him and his family is VASTLY different from the occasional tweet.
          And btw, what is your twitter name? I want to follow you!

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            January 4, 2010 7:30 pm

            Give me yours and I will follow you and then let you follow me. I have a blocked account because I am very selective. You will be my first follower.

            • lauren722 permalink
              January 4, 2010 8:06 pm

              Lauren722! xD You have no followers???????? Howwww????

            • 8sourcandy permalink
              January 4, 2010 9:00 pm

              I am following you. 🙂

            • lauren722 permalink
              January 4, 2010 9:01 pm

              YES! I just saw! You only follow me and Adam? I feel soooooo special!!!! I sent you a follow requestttt!!!!

        • deez permalink
          January 4, 2010 7:16 pm

          Lol! Confession is good for the soul! Your penance was having to listen to Gokey again.

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            January 4, 2010 7:31 pm

            I feel that way too. 🙂

    • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
      January 4, 2010 2:53 am

      At least you can tell the person from the character.

      • Brett permalink
        January 4, 2010 8:44 am

        A sense of irony goes a lot further than a tube of MAC StudioStick.

Leave a Reply

