Skip to content

The Best Pants on the Ground Covers

January 14, 2010

Not since William Hung has there been a bigger “viral” American Idol audition than General Larry Platt’s Pants on the Ground, but it looks like Platt may easily become an even bigger phenomenon thanks in part to countless social networking sites and blogs. (Hard to believe William Hung came before the advent of YouTube and Twitter, isn’t it?)

Less than 24 hours since the show aired, thousands upon thousands of Pants on the Ground covers have been posted on the internet. And Neil Young even stopped by Late Night with Jimmy Fallon to sing Platt’s unexpected hit.

Okay. It’s Jimmy Fallon doing Neil Young…I wasn’t paying attention at first, and damn, I forgot about Fallon’s Neil Young because I actually had his show on last night and he almost let out Barry Gibb.

Another favorite is Season 7 contestant (and total TopIdol favorite) Alex Wagner-Trugman’s rendition:

Jesus, Truggy!!! WHY DID THEY EVER CUT YOU???

Pants on the Ground could even surpass Lady GaGa’s Poker Face in ironic/celebrity/tribute covers at this point. Hey, I’m hoping we get a Christopher Walken version by next Wednesday. That’s when you’ve really made it, you know, when Christopher Walken recites your work.

Are there any other versions of Pants on the Ground that you’re digging the day after? Post ’em. Because right now Bill Cosby is sucking on a Jello Pudding Pop and kicking himself for not thinking of this shit.

Larry Platt, I love you.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. magnacarta permalink
    January 16, 2010 3:49 pm

    TI, I’m pretty sure Trugs is season 8, not season 7 😉

    • lauren722 permalink
      January 16, 2010 3:54 pm

      You’re right. I didn’t even notice that when I read the post.

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 16, 2010 5:34 pm

      Thanks 🙂

      I always get confused because I’ve only seen 4-5 and 7-8.

  2. January 15, 2010 11:57 am

    Yea for Larry Platt!! Just when I thought this season might be boring we get treated to “Pants On the Ground.” Now I will be expecting to see Larry perform his big hit on the Idol finale this year.

    So far, I do kinda like that Tyler guy from the Boston auditions. . .

  3. Trish permalink
    January 15, 2010 11:23 am

    Okay, heartless bitch here has to give major props to both those covers because they were awesome. I personally could have lived without the Larry Platt shtick the other night, but clearly the song’s lyrics are resonating with a lot of folks. Does this mean I’m now free to tell that dumb white kid in my neighborhood who’s been wearing his pants like this FOR YEARS that he looks like an idiot?

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 15, 2010 1:24 pm

      Yes. It does. And like I said, Bill Cosby is totally pissed he didn’t think of it first.

  4. auntieaimee permalink
    January 15, 2010 10:55 am

    As much as I like Truggsy’s version, Fallon’s was genius. It brought a tear to my eye.

  5. erinnthered permalink
    January 15, 2010 3:43 am

    I totally missed your dig at Cosby at the bottom. It’s been downhill for him since Bill Cosby: Himself.

    And yeah, Trugs is wonderful. I hope he can do something with his talent.

  6. 8sourcandy permalink
    January 14, 2010 11:11 pm

    lol!

  7. pattyluponey permalink
    January 14, 2010 11:07 pm

    I missed most of the semi-final round last year, so I totally missed Alex. That was crazy impressive! He seems a great fit for Glee…hope he can act…

  8. erinnthered permalink
    January 14, 2010 11:01 pm

    I hate to be a downer, cause it was still awesome, but that Jimmy doing a Neil Young impersonation. He’s really good at vocal impersonations of certain singers.

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 14, 2010 11:07 pm

      I wasn’t really looking, looking…I swear. And I forgot about Fallon’s Neil Young.

      However, I did have Late Night on last night and I thought for sure Fallon was going to bust into one of my favorite impressions at one point…BARRY GIBB!!!

    • deez permalink
      January 14, 2010 11:09 pm

      Yeah, he’s awesome! He’s done other covers in the guise of Neil Young as well. It kinda startled me the first time I heard him play and sing b/c I didn’t expect him to be that good.Lol.

      • Lakshmi permalink
        January 14, 2010 11:36 pm

        Fallon’s probably the most versatile performer out of all of the late night hosts. Dude just needs to stop laughing at his own jokes all of the time.

        • TopIdol permalink
          January 14, 2010 11:39 pm

          One of my favorites was when he played beer pong with Betty White.

          • erinnthered permalink
            January 15, 2010 3:35 am

            How did I miss this?!

            Have you seen her Craig Ferguson? She’s on at least once a month.

          • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
            January 15, 2010 5:48 am

            I saw that! She is hardcore.

    • pattyluponey permalink
      January 15, 2010 12:05 am

      I just showed the video to my dad, who is a huge Neil Young fan, and at first he thought it was Neil Young. I thing I just made a Jimmy Fallon fan. 🙂

  9. deez permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:55 pm

    A Kris/Trugs collab would be awesome! They would kill! (I don’t remember him sounding that good last year…always liked that kid)

  10. jukejoint permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:32 pm

    Trugs needs to get cast on GLEE, stat. Or maybe he and a couple of other cast-off cute guys with guitars can get together and do short sets to open for Kris. Wouldn’t that be the most adorable and wryly acerbic concert tour ever?

  11. lauren722 permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:27 pm

    I love Truggs! He’s so awkwardly adorable! This has to be the best cover of any song ever done. I love his failed attempt to be “cool” at the end of the video!

Trackbacks

  1. Neil Young sings “Pants on the Ground” « Idolpundit

Leave a Reply

