Skip to content

The 24 individuals deemed worthy by American Idol

January 21, 2010

Sigh. I have a feeling Season 9 of American Idol is gonna suck. Can I still blame Gokey?

From Vote for the Worst:

1. Aaron Kelly
2. Andrew Garcia
3. Alex Lambert
4. Ben Honeycutt
5. Casey James
6. Chris Golightly
7. Jermaine Sellers
8. John Park
9. Jose Munoz
10. Lee DeWyze
11. Michael Lynche
12. Tyler Grady
13. Ashley Rodriguez
14. Crystal Bowersox
15. Didi Benami
16. Haeley Vaughn
17. Janell Wheeler
18. Katelyn Epperly
19. Katy Stevens
20. Lacey Brown
21. Lilly Scott
22. Michelle Delamor
23. Paige DeChausse
24. Siobhan Magnus

I can barely bring myself to look at the girls’ names — what the hell is a CRYSTAL BOWERSOX? It sounds like something you buy on an infomercial. And are you kidding me? ALEX LAMBERT??? And for chrissake, who the hell spells their name HAELEY???

May the person with the lamest sob story win. If I ever decide to vote for this shit fest, its gonna be for the minority dudes and the big white girls…wait…they never let those get this far.

44 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 8:11 pm

    Crystal Bowersox is a household name here in Toledo as she won first place in the Toledo Blade Battle from over 200 contestants throughout the midwest as best solo/duo.
    My son, Frankie May is her accompanist on bass at all live shows here and her recordings . Crystal has also won numerous titles in Chicago where she lived for seven years, thus, I penned her, as one of her promoters, as, “Chicago Crystal”. Watch for her to pull out all the stops for American Idol but know that you will not hear her award winning originals throughout the contest but can catch them after the finals.

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 30, 2010 11:51 pm

      How old is her son??? He can’t be that old! And he’s accompanying her on bass?

      Feel free to email me any information you have.

  2. WooAmanda permalink
    January 26, 2010 1:32 pm

    I’m not one who pays any attention until I can vote. I don’t give a sh*t about auditions. I don’t give two sh*ts about Hollywood week. I don’t care who or what the judges decide to put before us. I’m concerned about how they sing (and the best voice never wins me). I’m concerned about how they play the game. Even so, I can count on one hand with room to spare the contestants I’ve voted for. I watch the show when it gets to the voting part. I may have a favorite but they may not inspire me to vote.

  3. Mithra permalink
    January 25, 2010 8:00 pm

    New spoilers from Idol Maniac at IDF:

    I have a couple corrections to make.

    Jermaine Sellers may not have made the top 24. It may be Jermaine Purifory.

    Todrick Hall made the top 24!

    Ben Honeycutt did not make the top 24.

  4. deez permalink
    January 24, 2010 4:50 pm

    Don’t know where this belongs, so I’ll add it here. Kris will be singing the anthem at the NFC championship game this evening…the pre-game should be televised. Also in a pre-game interview, Kris stated that he was going to be travelling to Haiti to assist with relief efforts.

    Prediction: Glamberts will follow shortly in the resulting video thread @ MJ’s with the announcement that this is being done to take his mind off of low album sales.

  5. jukejoint permalink
    January 24, 2010 12:41 pm

    I hope they learned their lesson from season 6, when the only guys on the tour were Blake Lewis, Chris Richardson (“nasally is a form of singing”), Phil whatever his name was who looked like Bat Boy, Sanjaya and Chris Sligh. No wonder Blake and Sanjaya emerged as frau bait, as odd as they were — there was no one else. But that year the tour sold really badly. Learn a lesson, 19!!

    (Bridge jumper is O-U-T according to spoilers coming from Joe’s Place and VFTW. There are so many weird things about the spoilers no one is sure if they’re right though.)

    • Mithra permalink
      January 24, 2010 6:48 pm

      Bridge jumper was out the first day ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      The Season 6 tour was a disaster for many reasons. Besides two quirky non model looking Christian types, one third almost was “divas” – which is why they seem to only cast one each year now. Pocket Tool and Nasally are only attractive to those attracted to fugo boy band types (and in Blake’s case REALLY FUG), and the Cake fanatics were not as huge a force as they were loud on the internet. It was billed as “Sanjaya and the other 9 people” in the press – and if one thing AI tards hated, it was the anti Idol who “was destroying the INTEGRITY ๐Ÿ˜€ of the show !!!11ZOMG!!” Sanjaya had only one solo number, and early reports of a huge block of Jorbacca and Cake taking up half the show turned many off from buying tickets. In fact, it was reported repeatedly that people left in droves when Jorbacca’s set started.

      Anyway, I forgot that Gaspy 2.0 is reported in this season. He’ll be pedofrau bait and on the tour unless he really tanks. That leaves country older blonde guy as fodder. It’s also being reported that Hybrid disabled his myspazz, which is giving his tards hope. If he is in fact cut, not a bad idea to milk this for all it’s worth.

      • Mithra permalink
        January 24, 2010 7:41 pm

        Oh yeah, now there are questions that Big Mike may still be in. Similar thing happened with Phil Stacey, and once it was proven it wasn’t his fault he was un-DQed. I think a lot of this may be Idol trying to mess with the spoilers anyway.

        With the top 24 back this year, it’s possible to have up to 6 guys on the tour. Even if they are dead set to have a girl winner, I would not be suprised if the tour still ends up a sausagefest.

  6. JoJo permalink
    January 24, 2010 5:36 am

    Love Kris, nuff said. I so wanted to be a honeyslut too, dam I hope he is in or I might have to support the bridge jumper (um is she still in?)

  7. cimi permalink
    January 24, 2010 3:53 am

    Love Adam. nuff said

  8. Mithra permalink
    January 23, 2010 9:03 pm

    Yeah, they really have very little male frau/tard bait even IF he’s in. It would just be him and Tyler Grady. They will easily be top 10 so they can be tour bait. I think he has that going for him so far as being in. I can’t imagine Idol wanting a top 10 touring without the bait for the main attendees of those concerts. No one’s going to show up for a bunch of women, a black guy, and some fugo hispanic guy. Oh yeah, there’s also a blonde country guy. He’ll probably be in too.

    • Sherena permalink
      January 23, 2010 10:14 pm

      Funny how that is, isn’t it? I sometimes wish we women would be more appreciative of each other sometimes, instead of fawning over men. ^.^

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        January 24, 2010 9:54 am

        I was hoping for a girl this year.

  9. Mithra permalink
    January 23, 2010 6:09 pm

    What’s going on from what I can see is that this year, besides the time being different, the spoiling process is as well. I never followed it closely before, but I guess the other years a list was emailed and then it was checked. This year no list, and lots of stalking ๐Ÿ˜€ Also seems either Idol is deciding to clamp down on leaks and play hardball with the contracts, or they are sending out false info.

    John Park now is in the “unconfirmed” camp since they only have one source.

    • jukejoint permalink
      January 23, 2010 7:16 pm

      Maybe 19 is waiting to see who looks like frau bait (i.e., spoilers to their A GIRL IS GONNA WIN THIS YEAR, DAMN IT! mantra) and then booting them before it starts. John Park? Too popular with the girls. Must go. BOOOO!!

  10. jukejoint permalink
    January 23, 2010 2:28 pm

    Now somebody is saying that Paige Dechausse is not really in the top 24. I thought she was pretty mediocre, anyway.

    Lists in the past from Joe’s Place have been really accurate, so all this changing around is odd.

  11. Mithra permalink
    January 22, 2010 10:05 pm

    I hope that’s a joke 8sourcandy – it’s bad enough that you’re a glamtard ๐Ÿ˜€

    This is beyond stupid of the father if it’s true:

    http://www.tampabay.com/features/media/st-…an-idol/1066918

    St. Petersburg native Michael Lynche is among the top 24 semifinalists on Fox TV’s blockbuster singing competition American Idol, according to relatives and two fan Web sites tracking the show.

    If true, Lynche would be the second family member to do well on the show; his brother Marque Lynche Jr. advanced to the show’s semifinals in 2004 but was cut from the competition before the final 12 performers were selected.

    Lynche’s father, Marque Lynche Sr., confirmed that his 26-year-old son had survived the “Hollywood round” of auditions filmed last week in Los Angeles โ€” where singers plucked from the location tryouts are whittled down to 24 semifinalists.

    Fox has declined to comment on the Hollywood auditions until footage of the tryouts airs in February โ€” the first shows to feature newly hired judge Ellen DeGeneres. But Lynche’s name was among the list of top 24 singers featured on two Web sites tracking rumors about the auditions.

    • saskinkedi permalink
      January 22, 2010 10:19 pm

      Naaahhh.. She is just messin’ with me ’cause she does not agree with me that Lambert was TCO.

    • saskin permalink
      January 22, 2010 10:27 pm

      Naahhh… She is just messing with me ’cause she doesn’t agree that Lambert was TCO. Which is fine. Mine is just a theory. I have no idea how idol operates.

      (BTW I might be in moderation I don’t know why)

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        January 23, 2010 2:26 pm

        Saskin, you know me very well ๐Ÿ™‚

        I have no idea who’s who. Is Alex Lambert a boy or a girl? I feel compelled to rally behind the name. In fact, my criteria for selecting a contestant to root for this season is as follows;

        MUST
        โ€”have a likable name
        โ€”be physically attractive
        โ€”have some sense of fashion
        โ€”have a normal back story sans illness, death and heartbreak

        As for singing, who cares if they can sing. Does it really matter? Their career will be derailed by their association to that crapfest show and some lame, poorly written song that they will have to debut with.

        I think the real contest/challenge is not winning the show, but transcending it.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        January 23, 2010 2:38 pm

        What is TCO? Too Cock Obsessed? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      January 23, 2010 2:54 pm

      Glamtards are not nearly as CRA CRA as GaGa fans. I also have been looking at photos of the audiences at Lambert’s shows; NOT ALL are hags, heifers and homelysโ€”many were young and hot! So the steriotype purported here was inaccurate. Knowing these two things makes me less ashamed of being a Glamtard. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • pattyluponey permalink
        January 23, 2010 7:00 pm

        Yeah! Maybe I can go see Adam and not get trampled! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. saskinkedi permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:42 pm

    Why would you want that? I can tell you right away that they’re definitely not going to discover the next Barbra Streisand or Madonna or Jon Bon Jovi or whoever else they might claim to discover. They’re just trying to design an entertaining show and it is fun to try to follow how they design it. ‘Cause they usually end up trying to sell antibiotics to bacteria. It does not work and it ends up really annoying everyone.

    BTW I didn’t mean to insult Lambert fans ( because what sane person would?). I meant (and said) ‘I think’ he was TCO. There is no universal truth there. It is just my opinion. I don’t know how Idol operates. I had a theory and wondered if someone else might share or challenge my opinion.

  13. 8sourcandy permalink
    January 22, 2010 7:59 pm

    I want the girl with bleached teeth, beautiful legs and divorced mom to win. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. January 22, 2010 5:57 pm

    Crystal Bowersox is from the Toledo, Ohio, area, where I live. She is a mom and is working hard to make it in the music business.

  15. saskin permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:43 am

    I’m very new to this but is it too early to predict that the girl with bleached teeth, beautiful legs and divorced mom could be TCO? She is in the top 24. Her audition reminded me of Lambert audition ( I believe he was TCO last year): she (just like Lambert) was over confident, well prepared, very rehearsed and had perfect tv make-up on. She was the first on Shania’s episode, right after the Shania montage so they made sure that Shania fans would see her… There was no real story there but many different shots; outside looking up (she has dreams), on a balcony interviewing (she is ready to be a star), putting her number on (yet she auditioned like a regular person), waiting in the room with mom. All the edit made me think she doesn’t need Idol, she will be a star anyways, this is just to cheer up mom (BTW in what universe does this make sense??? Take her out shopping. Rent a DVD and pop some corn. Give her a hug. Whatever. Goodness).

    I know there is an other pretty blond girl with nice legs there. But I think if there are two gorgeous girls the slightly more real looking one might be found more likable by the public, maybe ?

    Of course on the other hand Kara the Awful said there were SuBo stories this year…

    Or more likely I’m reading too much into this.

    • on the edge permalink
      January 22, 2010 5:29 pm

      Did anyone else notice she had a Quatto? Or a Quatto clone, to be more precise?

  16. January 22, 2010 8:51 am

    I fraking hate myself for reading this.
    YES JOHN PARK. =D
    AND YAY BERKLEE STUDENT ASHLEY RODRIGUEZ.
    AND YAY JERMAINE SELLERS.
    Aw frak, asthma girl made it??? I really don’t like her.
    And HAHAHAHA ALEX LAMBERT. wtf.

  17. Kathy permalink
    January 22, 2010 6:10 am

    Oh yeah they want a girl to win in the worst way. You can always blame Gokey!
    A lot of the guys are musician types so they will cancel each others large voting blocks out. That was no accident. They want another Carrie Underwood. Several talented cute blondes. Although I don’t like Janell already.Other than the select blondes the rest of the girls have some edge or are at least real musician types and you know those girls never do well on Idol. They will get their blonde girl winner this year if it kills them. I like John and you can shoot me but I do like Ben. I like a boy with a guitar. And get this.. he is southern married and a worship leader. TPTB were really setting him up to call him Kris all season so people won’t vote for the same idol twice.Those are the only 2 boys imo that can throw a wrench in the works.

    Don’t underestimate the frau pull for Aaron. He has David Archuleta fans written all over him. The crazy Glambert faction(not the sane ones) will automatically be against Ben. Fan wars should be fun to watch this season actually lol

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 22, 2010 9:56 am

      And we do know how I hate “cute blonds”.

  18. jukejoint permalink
    January 22, 2010 12:56 am

    Maybe somebody will get a DUI and we’ll get a replacement we like better.

    I don’t mind the Bowersox girl. I think I went to high school with a Bowersox, so it makes me think of good ol’ Midwestern girls who bake their own bread and make their own soap and sell it at the Farmer’s Market.

    There’s actually a strong contingent from my state of Illinois. There’s Jermaine from Joliet, Lee from Mt. Prospect, John from Evanston, the Bowersox, who is from Ohio but somehow connected to Chicago and one hopes is a White Sox fan, and… Okay, Paige, the asthma girl, is from Morris, which is not Chicagoland, but down there in Old Dirty Hastert territory. But 5 out of 24 with Illinois connections isn’t bad.

    It remains to be seen whether those five will showcase the “ill” part of Illinois, or the “annoy” part.

  19. Smartie permalink
    January 21, 2010 11:55 pm

    Bet Janell the cuntry singer ‘wins’.

    What a load of fugarama.

    • pattyluponey permalink
      January 22, 2010 10:56 am

      She dated Tim Tebow which makes me like her even less.

      • deez permalink
        January 22, 2010 11:03 am

        Haha, I saw that as well. The Gokey of college football.

  20. pattyluponey permalink
    January 21, 2010 11:26 pm

    and I’m surprised we don’t have a David Gokey to fill out the dream finale TPTB wanted last year.

  21. pattyluponey permalink
    January 21, 2010 11:22 pm

    John Park has the most interesting voice of the guys…but he’s Asian, so he might make the top 5…because TPTB want a girl, I don’t even want to check them out. Aaron Kelly is like an Archie from Hillbilly Hell.

    I can’t wait for the trainwreck that will be X-Factor. At least they will have to have interesting performers to fill out that whole back-up dancer/spectacle bs.

  22. kimberly permalink
    January 21, 2010 11:20 pm

    “And are you kidding me? ALEX LAMBERT???” — top idol

    I know right? Do we really need another Lambert on Idol? I say nay.

  23. SarahBeth permalink
    January 21, 2010 11:08 pm

    I’ve heard that Idol is putting shitty guys in because they want a girl to win this year since there have been two guy winners in a row.

    Whatever, I probably won’t watch.

  24. LeighKat permalink
    January 21, 2010 10:58 pm

    YAWN* Now, because I can’t stop watching this, I will post the following totally unrelated link here.

    http://link.brightcove.com/services/player/bcpid1610699488?bctid=31812464001

    This kid is more entertaining than all those people combined ๐Ÿ™‚

    • deez permalink
      January 22, 2010 1:59 am

      LOL, that was awesome. That kid already has better stage presence than Gokey. Loved the camera pointing.

  25. Notarding permalink
    January 21, 2010 10:32 pm

    Don’t worry the frau will rule the day!!! Bye bye minorities.

  26. auntieaimee permalink
    January 21, 2010 10:29 pm

    Not too many lookers in this group.

Leave a Reply

