Skip to content

Ben Honeycutt with slay you with his wholesomeness and epic collection of v-neck t-shirts

January 22, 2010

Top 24 contestant (and Bizarro Hybrid) Ben Honeycutt is sure to benefit from the frau vote, even if he is married (wife is still living). Of course, his hybrid-ness is likely to anger some (i.e., batshit crazy Glambets).

He also has a dog named after Jack Bauer and is a ZOMG worship leader at a church which I already find annoying, partially because it is simply called The Church.

Check out this article from a local Georgia paper to learn more about Ben Honeycutt.

Ben Honeycutt is not the type of person that will show up to a singing competition wearing a guitar costume.

That is because he does not need one to grab anyone’s attention.

Honeycutt wowed the American Idol judges with his smooth, soft voice and landed a spot in the 2010 American Idol competition’s second round in Hollywood, Cali.

It was just a few short years ago that Honeycutt was leading the Plainview Bears baseball team as a pitcher and amazing his peers with his voice at Beta Club conventions.

Now, instead of wowing his Plainview teachers and classmates, he is wowing Simon Cowell and Randy Jackson.

For Honeycutt, American Idol is, “kind of the next step in a dream,” he says in his post-audition interview on AmericanIdol.com.

He is already a national champion talent show singer from those Beta Club conventions, but that will not take you to a career in music. His former band, Candlefuse, was poised for the big stage, but that did not work out as they split up this past year.

Now the group has gone their separate ways and Honeycutt’s journey has led him to the Atlanta ‘Idol’ auditions.

Not only is Honeycutt a talented singer, but he has played the guitar since he was 13 years old and now plays piano as well. One of his other talents, moreover, is song writing.

Before his senior year at Plainview, he had written nine songs. Now the total is much higher.

The passion he has for music is unparalleled by his other interests. It is his calling, if you ask him.

Baseball looked to be Honeycutt’s future when he was in high school, but despite having an uncle who pitched for the Atlanta Braves, it was always music that won his heart.

Not just any music, but the music he made to praise God.

Now, as the worship leader for The Church at Catoosa in Ringgold, Ga., Honeycutt uses his musical talents to lead and direct his church family in praise songs. He is married to his high school sweetheart, Ashley Edwards Honeycutt of Fyffe. They reside in Fort Oglethorp, Ga. with their dog, Bauer, named for the television character Jack Bauer.

Hollywood week is quickly approaching, and the stakes are high. Tune in to see if he makes the cut during Hollywood week to move on to the Top 24 contestants in this year’s “Idol” competition.

79 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherena permalink
    January 23, 2010 7:26 pm

    OT but

    THIS BITCH. Is baaaaack ♥

    • Lauren permalink
      January 23, 2010 7:30 pm

      Not a huge fan, but she sounds great there. πŸ˜€

  2. koka permalink
    January 23, 2010 4:56 pm

    I’m sure Jive paid to have LLWD at the #1 spot. Not sure why RSA does not make the same deal for Madam.

    • margie permalink
      January 23, 2010 7:10 pm

      HUH? This is an absurd comment. Jive is cheap; they don’t pay anything.

      • Sherena permalink
        January 23, 2010 7:27 pm

        Pretty sure koka’s snarking.

        • margie permalink
          January 23, 2010 7:52 pm

          lol it went over my head…sorry koka!! πŸ™‚

  3. Kathy permalink
    January 23, 2010 3:04 pm

    lol hey we’re not all hillbillies πŸ™‚ I think it was a pig:)

  4. Julie permalink
    January 23, 2010 1:36 pm

    oops, I see others have already said that!

    He already had a nice little fanbase over on ontd_ai, but with the bio that was almost identical to Kris and the whole Cook/Allen vibe…yeah, no way TPTB were gonna risk putting him through. They REALLY are pushing hard for a girl to win — and the competition hasn’t even started yet.

    I haven’t seen anyone from the S9 group that has really impressed me. The talent from S8 just seems way stronger. I like Jermaine and John Park, but neither has wowed me

    • Lauren permalink
      January 23, 2010 6:27 pm

      Those poor b.j. honeysluts! He’s not even going to be in the top 24 D:
      Anyway, if John Park doesn’t make it there will be no reason for me to watch Idol at all this season! Have I mentioned that I think he’s pretty? lol

  5. Julie permalink
    January 23, 2010 1:32 pm

    SPOILER ALERT!

    I heard that Ben H didn’t actually make the Top 24. That’s the rumor, anyway

  6. Kathy permalink
    January 23, 2010 10:56 am

    Totally OT but I may have to move. How did Andy Dick get into the state?

    “Andy Dick was arrested in West Virginia this morning on two counts felony counts of sexual abuse.

    He is currently in custody at the Western Regional Jail. He is due to be arraigned sometime today.

    Dick was in town performing at the Funny Bone in Huntington, WV.

    Dick is currently on probation over an incident at a pizza joint, where he was arrested for sexual assault. He copped a plea to battery in 2008.

    Read more: http://www.tmz.com/#ixzz0dRoFFpzM

    • freedavidcook permalink
      January 23, 2010 1:28 pm

      Ugh! Did he fuck a chicken or molest some cows?

      Pretty much anything goes in the mountains so it must have been epic.

  7. January 23, 2010 3:18 am

    Before his senior year at Plainview, he had written nine songs. Now the total is much higher.

    10?

    • freedavidcook permalink
      January 23, 2010 1:26 pm

      9 and 1/2

      • Lauren permalink
        January 23, 2010 1:37 pm

        As a b.j. honeyslut, I find it my duty to stop you bad-mouthing my beloved. YOU’RE JUST A CHRISTIANOPHOBE AND A HATER!

  8. LeighKat permalink
    January 23, 2010 1:10 am

    Screw Honeycut and the Honeysluts- I was for Jermaine Purifoy ALL THE WAY!!!… well, until I noticed that his name does not appear on that Top 24 list. The ‘QueenBeezz’ would have gotten rid of him anyway.

    okay, that was lame but, did the ‘queenbeezz’ reference get even a little giggle?

    • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
      January 23, 2010 1:22 am

      LOL! The QueenBeezz with their crazy hive mind? πŸ™‚

  9. Mithra permalink
    January 23, 2010 12:06 am

    Okay, the list spins further out of control, although this one doesn’t have a penis, only an asthma inhaler, so they don’t seem to give a shit.

    Big news! Paige DeChausse is out. There is a different Paige that is in. An unknown black Paige.

    ^^I think that was posted by Idol Maniac at ID spoilers.

  10. Sherena permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:44 pm

    “Not just any music, but the music he made to praise God.”

    This line turned me off. Perhaps that’s not fair; I’ll try to judge his music separately, but the hardcore religious “Praise God Almighty!” stuff squicks me out.

    • Lauren permalink
      January 23, 2010 12:10 am

      That turned me off too honestly. I mean I feel horrible about it but I totally judged him over that.

      • Sherena permalink
        January 23, 2010 3:51 pm

        Oh, good! I felt rather bad typing that, but I couldn’t help it.

  11. Trish permalink
    January 22, 2010 10:31 pm

    What??? He was (honey)cut? That explains why his videos are still up and why he got so little face time. I wonder if TPTB got freaked at how much ‘excitement’ he was already generating?

  12. Kathy permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:49 pm

    See him being so eerily like Kris meant he was a plant so a girl could win lol Best contestant of Season 9? The General! I am just looking forward to seeing him on the finale:)

  13. margie permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:46 pm

    I thought he was in. It’s so confusing but I can see him out because he is way to eerily like Kris. It’s a girl this year dawg πŸ˜‰ !

    • margie permalink
      January 22, 2010 9:48 pm

      eerily i mean bio. looks like cook. It was/is just weird.

  14. jukejoint permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:19 pm

    Somebody at MJ’s is reporting that Ben Honeycutt definitely didn’t make the top 24. VFTW and MJ are also reporting that Michael Lynche has been disqualified for breaking the confidentiality rule. Apparently, his dad did an interview with the local paper and was quoted as saying that his kid was in the top 24. Well, he’s not anymore.

    • Lauren permalink
      January 22, 2010 9:24 pm

      Awwww but I really wanted to be a b.j. honeyslut!

      • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
        January 22, 2010 9:41 pm

        Reach for the stars, Lauren. LOL!

  15. Kathy permalink
    January 22, 2010 8:47 pm

    Oops… looks like Ben is out. So that made my season easier. Go Hot Asian!

    • Lauren permalink
      January 22, 2010 9:00 pm

      Yes! There is something truly attractive about an intelligent, preppy Asian who laughs at Shania’s innuendos.

    • Kathy permalink
      January 22, 2010 9:00 pm

      or wait not sure. lol JP is unsure.

  16. erinnthered permalink
    January 22, 2010 8:36 pm

    I still haven’t seen an episode. Do we even know what this guy sounds like?

    I do kinda love that after all the crap about how awesome Adam was that it’s the Kris retreads that they ended up going for. You can’t tell me they didn’t get some stellar theatrical rocker auditions. There really are lots of them.

  17. jukejoint permalink
    January 22, 2010 6:40 pm

    Hmm…

    V-neck shirts, Scottie dog, crappy jewelry, bad hair, guitar, baseball, had a band

    Married, worship leader, guitar, piano, Southern accent, baseball

    Did I miss anything? Right now, the Cook part is winning 7-6. Hybrid? Or Frankenkrook?

    • deez permalink
      January 22, 2010 6:47 pm

      Somebody needs to uncover another treasure trove of homoerotic college frat boy pics so that we can balance out Cook/Kris….and laugh.

    • Trish permalink
      January 22, 2010 7:43 pm

      BWAH, jukejoint, you’re analysis is brilliant. He’s righthanded, so I think it’s 7-7!

  18. Trish permalink
    January 22, 2010 5:08 pm

    Can’t we vote for John Cho, er, Park AND B.J. (hah!) Honeycutt for the time being? I liked the Jim Morrison wannabe too. I may also place a few votes for the black chick with the guitar who’s spelling-challenged mother named her after Kelly Ripa’s character on All My Children. I have no idea if she’s a good singer or not, but my secret fantasy is that she’s Tracy Chapman 2.0.

    Signed B.J. HOneySLuTt no. 9 ❀ ❀

    • Trish permalink
      January 22, 2010 5:10 pm

      And that, of course, would be “whose mother.” I may be lame but I’m not normally spelling-challenged — except when there’s no edit function! πŸ™‚

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 22, 2010 5:25 pm

      Maybe Anoop and John Park will form an unholy alliance after the season. Or at least go to White Castle together.

      • Trish permalink
        January 22, 2010 6:23 pm

        Yeah, I made that joke a couple of days ago!

    • Lauren permalink
      January 22, 2010 6:11 pm

      Oh my gosh. I might become a fan just so I can call myself a b.j. honeyslut!

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        January 22, 2010 8:22 pm

        That was very, very funny. πŸ™‚

  19. Kathy permalink
    January 22, 2010 4:56 pm

    I’m between Ben and hot asian myself. I may have to go hot asian just for my self respect lol

  20. deez permalink
    January 22, 2010 4:21 pm

    *sigh* How can they be tarding to such an extent already? I plan on voting for HOT ASIAN! but only if he can back up my vote. I think the Honeybeasts and Gradyfrau have already dug in their heels. Very weird. It was top 9 last year before I made a decision on a favorite (even then, I wavered a couple of times.)

    • Lauren permalink
      January 22, 2010 4:24 pm

      I don’t even know…I plan on voting for hot asian too. He is pretty and educated and has a good voice and ASIAN! That makes him pretty damn sexy.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      January 22, 2010 5:48 pm

      I’ll have to reserve judgement on the Asian Persuasion until I hear what he sounds like with accompaniment. Acapella groups typically make me want to pitch myself out the nearest window, so I couldn’t get through his spoilers.

    • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
      January 22, 2010 10:00 pm

      I don’t get the early tarding either. I usually watch the auditions for the lulz, but they’re really milking every drop from whatever sob story they can cook up, so it’s been meh for me. Other than General Larry Platt, all the other characters seem to be trying too hard to be funny or entertaining. Especially Shit-For-Brains.

      I only took to Cook from when he did Billie Jean, and Kris from Ain’t No Sunshine, so no matter how many hot asians or boys with guitars they parade around, it’s nothing to me. And although it annoys a lot of people how the judges are already pimping for a girl to win, I kind of hope a guitar-slinging girl with talent in spades will impress me this year.

      • jonoave permalink
        January 23, 2010 12:19 am

        Lol.. I must be a bad self-minority supporter. I think Ben looks better than John for now (no comments on the music which I haven’t heard yet, and we’ll see what the AI stylists can do with them), and I totally tarded over Kris and not an Adam fan.

        According to Glamberts and other BSC fans, I’m a self-hating homophobe/Asian!!!!

        • Lauren permalink
          January 23, 2010 1:23 am

          But Asians are sexy!

  21. Mithra permalink
    January 22, 2010 2:47 pm

    He was being tarded over heavily at the IDF spoiler forums. Even Heliotrope was “warming” to him *shudders*… They go insane for many they can’t even vote for before the spoilers come out, like Cardin McKinney, Brandon Green, Joplanta, etc – so they may be a force to be reckoned with come voting time. They are already showing signs of Tyler Grady hate. Tyler seems to be attracting the sparkle cows on the official scaries (they’re already giving out numbers)- so on the spoiler thread they were going on and on about Grady being horrible and the new Sanjaya πŸ˜€

    I think Alex Lambert is fodder. He’s just there for a name push for their failed plant, because you know there will be jokes and not so subliminal associations.

    • whutha permalink
      January 22, 2010 7:28 pm

      Heliotrope? The same who infested the Cookboards with screed after screed about her insights into his angelic soul– before terrifying even the UberCooks by morphing into a Gokeymaiden? Who now assaults boards hither and yon with her nine paragraph epics on Gokeyfacts, then flies into a rage at the complete and utter indifference of the world? That Heliotrope? That would be funny if she found a new lamb to molest already. She is one unfaithful frau.

      Actually, though, I have a bad feeling that we haven’t yet seen what the producers mean to spring on us in this regard. Doesn’t it seem like we really haven’t found the right combination of victimhood/tragedy/awkwardness/pity/cheese to make a truly spectacular tardbait?

      IMHO Kris didn’t truly take off with fraudom because didn’t have the requisite level of neediness.

      • Mithra permalink
        January 22, 2010 8:39 pm

        Yes. THAT Heliotrope πŸ˜€ She’s going to be besides herself if this new bit is correct, along with his legion of scary/ierboard tards. From Joe’s Place, who was always the one insisting he’s in even though other reliable spoilers doubted it:

        I got new info saying Ben got cut in group rounds in Hollywood. I don;t know if this is accurate so I want to go over it with IM and David. But, to me, it does seem accurate…God, who knows which end is up these days.

        OH NOESSS!!! To think they are already starting fanwars even!!!! πŸ˜‰

        • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
          January 22, 2010 10:39 pm

          If it’s true that he got cut it would be hilarious!! They haven’t even had a chance to write an ode to his eyelashes or his fourth left toe. Heliotrope better not waste her time then!

          • Mithra permalink
            January 23, 2010 12:04 am

            Heliotrope seemed guarded in her interest. She’s not a ho you know. It’s a spiritual thing πŸ˜€

  22. Kathy permalink
    January 22, 2010 1:46 pm

    I may have to jump ship. I just saw his fans are batting names around such as the honeybees and the honeyhive. *bangs head on desk*

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 22, 2010 1:49 pm

      HONEY BEEASTS!!!!

    • Trish permalink
      January 22, 2010 3:27 pm

      I feel sick about this revelation.

      Anybody remember B.J. Honeycutt (Mike Farrell) from MASH?? I wonder if one of Ben’s parents is a closeted liberal. Now that would be poetic justice.

      • Mithra permalink
        January 22, 2010 3:40 pm

        I always think of B.J. Honeycutt when I read his name. One of my sister’s BFFs was in a band with Mike’s son, who was the drummer. Just a random digression.

        • Paulie permalink
          January 22, 2010 10:19 pm

          Hee! For some reason QAF’s Emmett Honeycutt comes to MY mind. πŸ˜›

      • TopIdol permalink
        January 22, 2010 4:50 pm

        Mike Farrell also has some killer stories about when the Scientologists were trying to recruit him.

    • Lauren permalink
      January 22, 2010 3:53 pm

      Kathy, the term on ONTD_ai is Honeysluts!

  23. Lauren permalink
    January 22, 2010 12:40 pm

    He is too wholesome. Then again, I thought that of Kris at first so maybe he’ll surprise me.

  24. January 22, 2010 12:14 pm

    LMAO* because I know someone who goes to “The Church”.
    it would be cooler if it was called “The CHurch Of The Poison Mind”.

  25. Kathy permalink
    January 22, 2010 12:11 pm

    But what if his dog had been named Draper? heh Drat I bet he’d have had TI then lol I don’t know, it is going to be hard for me to not to root for the kid if he turns out to be the musician I think he is. Then again, Pre-season and early rounds last year I thought for sure I would like Matt. Then he pulled that coldplay stunt and a certain little plaid wearing guitar boy started impressing me. But if the frau run for him I’m running for the hills. I may be too old to be an idol fan lol but I am not BSC:)

    • on the edge permalink
      January 22, 2010 1:16 pm

      Yeah, I get QuattoHost wanting to do the whole Fray/Coldplay gig, but he’s just NOT That Guy. He’s the jazzy, bluesy guy. I listened to the clip MJ has of him dueting on that old Eddy Arnold song and it’s frakking phenomenal. THAT’S what he needs to do.

  26. auntieaimee permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:18 am

    I find myself becoming annoyed by this kid. I know I am being unfair. I do find it amusing that after the powers that be were saying they wanted edgier contestants like Adam and Allison that they found a bunch of Kris/David C./Brooke White types. What up with that?

  27. Trish permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:05 am

    Am I mistaken, or was the only glimpse we got of BH in Atlanta when he was seated next to that ditz “guitar girl” while Ryan was interviewing her? I specifically looked for him to see if he was in the “golden ticket round-up” at the end of that episode, and I didn’t spot him. Why would they hide him? He didn’t even get as much exposure as Kris Allen did.

    Whatever. I think he’s a good singer, and as much as I love Kris, my initial reaction to hearing him sing during the spoiler phase last season was that he didn’t have a great voice. I still feel that way about him. I think Ben’s tone is much better, but that doesn’t mean he can pull off what Kris did week in and week out, which was pretty impressive.

    I don’t really care about Ben’s backstory — or anybody else’s at this point. He doesn’t seem like the preachy type and appears to have a pretty good sense of humor, so I’m hoping he fares well.

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 22, 2010 1:48 pm

      Perhaps he is an Allen-Cook-GOKEY hybrid?

      NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

      • on the edge permalink
        January 22, 2010 2:45 pm

        Quick…somebody buy him some Versace glasses and kill his wife and we’ll find out!*

        *Oh God I am SO kidding. Well maybe not about the glasses.

        • Lauren permalink
          January 22, 2010 3:55 pm

          You’re going to hell. I am too because I cannot stop laughing. ROFL!

  28. barado permalink
    January 22, 2010 10:37 am

    Lets see….baseball player, married his high school sweetheart, song-writer, guitar-player since age 13, church worship-leader. Did I leave anything out? Has he had a rib removed?

    • deez permalink
      January 22, 2010 10:43 am

      OMG, you beat me to it! I was thinking they must have copied and pasted Kris’ bio from last year! I wonder if he has a college cheerleader brother? I like Kris…but do we need another? What do we know about ALEX LAMBERT? Is he gay? Ben and Alex need to room together! Benex? Alben?

      • barado permalink
        January 22, 2010 11:55 am

        Benex sounds too medicinal, Alben too bland. I nominate Honeybert. Actually I did forget the most obvious common trait: Southern white boy. And, without hearing him yet, I want him eliminated early so I don’t get involved.

      • Lauren permalink
        January 22, 2010 12:38 pm

        I like Honeybert! If they room together that would make my life.

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 22, 2010 1:47 pm

      Wasn’t Cook a baseball player, too?

      • on the edge permalink
        January 22, 2010 2:46 pm

        Do we need to do a Venn diagram? Because Cook and Hybrid (there’s my new nick for him) also own Scottish Terriers and have bad hair.

        • on the edge permalink
          January 22, 2010 2:48 pm

          And, does anyone in his family have cancer? Did he go to tryouts with his brother?

          WE NEED TO KNOW THESE THINGS NO I DON’T KNOW WHY.

Leave a Reply

