Skip to content

Is it Saturday yet?

January 27, 2010

The good news? Jon Hamm shaved! The GREAT news? Promos are now up for this weekend’s Saturday Night Live.

I think I’ll be staying in this Saturday night. Maybe drink some vodka and Tweet throughout the entire episode. I’ll also start placing bets on when the Patron Saint of Top Idol signs up for the next Judd Apatow movie.

(I am, however, still pissed. I heard Bryan Batt will not be returning as Sal for Season 4 of Mad Men. For chrissake! Don’t do this to me! If only Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce could lose the damned Lucky Strike account without any financial repercussions. But yes…bring back Rachel Menken…please? She IS Don Draper’s soul mate.)

43 Comments leave one →
  1. 8sourcandy permalink
    January 28, 2010 6:56 pm

    “I heard Bryan Batt will not be returning as Sal for Season 4 of Mad Men.”

    Clearly, Mad Men is produced by homophobes and haters!

  2. jukejoint permalink
    January 27, 2010 4:11 pm

    But would Josie and the Pussycats beat out the Archies for the title?

    • deez permalink
      January 27, 2010 4:20 pm

      Only if Simon isn’t put off by the costumes during auditions. (Melody=Kellie Pickler)

  3. jukejoint permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:33 pm

    His affairs have never bothered me, either. Well, Bobbi did. That whole thing was kind of creepy and about power or demeaning someone more than sex. But Midge, Rachel and Suzanne the teacher were understandable to me, because his marriage was such a mess and Betty was such an emotional void, and they at least offered some warmth. “My wife doesn’t understand me” is a cliche, but in this case…

    Not coming home with Sally’s birthday cake was another matter. THAT one I have a hard time overlooking. And then bringing a dog? Yeah, I would kick his butt for that one, even if he was Don Draper.

    But I think the trio of brunettes (without Bobbi, who I seriously could not stand) represent the actual partnership he could never have with “ideal” Betty. She’s perfect on the surface, she’s everything he should want, and she’s nothing he really needs. The Hitchcock Blonde is just a fantasy when it comes right down to it.

    Among the women, I thought Midge was too kooky and unsettled and the Suzanne was too young and needy in her own way, like they were at different places and didn’t match up all that well. Midge seemed to really be mostly about the sex — I mean, they had so little in common otherwise, and that poetry reading she dragged him to was just painful. Suzanne definitely had some issues, but for Don, I think she was more about youth and freedom and not being so hemmed in. Rachel was her own person, a real 3-D person, and I think she and Don together were a more real couple, who filled a need in each other, turned each other on mentally as well as physically, and could’ve challenged each other and continued to fascinate each other as the years went on.

    Or I’m romanticizing some cufflinks and some dogs on the roof.

    I saw the actress who played Midge in that movie with Anne Hathaway — Rachel Getting Married — and I barely recognized her. Good actress. She just married Ron Livingston, who is no slouch himself. I think she’s doing all right for herself!

  4. LeighKat permalink
    January 27, 2010 12:56 pm

    This none return of Sal can’t be real. How could then discontinue one of the most intriguing story lines in the show? It simply can’t be real. Will remain in a state of disbelief.

  5. carmine2008 permalink
    January 27, 2010 10:19 am

    I woke this morning and thought the very same thing. I wish it is Saturday everyday. Hahaha.

  6. erinnthered permalink
    January 27, 2010 2:31 am

    Yeah for the shave! BOO for losing Sal!!!eleventy!!!

    Eh, I like Miss Farrell. She seems like a perfect mix of Midge and Rachel, plus a few things neither had, but Don needs. I never understood the speculation that she was crazy. A lot of people seem threatened by her character in some way.

    Blacklisted, congrats! Will you get video? (Of the BSC, of course…Krallison is optional)

    • deez permalink
      January 27, 2010 2:36 am

      No Kidding! Forget filming the performances!!! I want to see if people are really putting nachos in other peoples’ seats!!

      • blacklisted permalink
        January 27, 2010 2:53 am

        I will definitely be getting video! Maybe even of Kradison performing. 🙂

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 27, 2010 2:39 am

      I find it so interesting how Don’s affairs are always with smart, ahead-of-their-time brunettes. beatnik Midge, careerwoman Rachel, brash manager of her husband’s career Bobbie Barnett and flower child Suzanne. There’s a reason why I’ve never been torn up over his philandering, and its mainly because of the stark contrast these women are to perfect, adorable blond-haired, blue-eyed childish Betty.

      I was watching the last few episodes of Season 2 the other day and it reminded me that I wouldn’t mind seeing more of the Real Mrs. Draper and learning more about her friendship with Don, too.

      I also want more Carla this season. Definitely more Carla.

      • erinnthered permalink
        January 27, 2010 2:51 am

        I know!! I really want more Mrs Draper flashbacks, or even more of their current relationship now that the current Draper marriage is over….I hope.

        I was the same way about the affairs. Season 4 is going to be good…except the suckage from lack of Sal. I hope that’s a joke, and they’ll find a way to at least have him for a guest spot. I can believe he won’t be at SCDP, but I can’t believe he’s gone forever.

        • erinnthered permalink
          January 27, 2010 3:06 am

          ETA: You know Carla is raising the kids now. We’ll get tons of Carla.

          • TopIdol permalink
            January 27, 2010 3:12 am

            When hasn’t Carla been raising the kids? I really hope she got to spend some of Xmas with her family.

            • erinnthered permalink
              January 28, 2010 4:55 am

              Excellent point. You know Betty didn’t give Carla two seconds off. Maybe Carla took the Sally and Bobby to see her family. It would be a great jumping off point for Sally if she started spending time with Carla’s family. Maybe secretly dates her nephew of something.

      • wino permalink
        January 27, 2010 3:07 am

        It seemed that he was searching for his equal via affairs…yet at the same time being content with having a blissful dumb/non challenging wife. Even at the office, he admired peggy and was drawn to her fire. Same with joan…he has amazing chemistry with her and has never tried to put her into the office babe role. If anything, he seems to admire her. Fk, he treats his fiesty daughter (shades of peggy, joan) with more respect than Betty……Thus as much as I wanted to dislike his philandering ways, I have always been more intrigued by his reasons rather than bothered. Maybe in a way, Don knows he’s better than the status quo….the Bettys of the world. That he, his hooker mamma and women like Peggy are actually the ones on top. Honestly, i dont know where Im going w. this theory….I need a drink.

        • TopIdol permalink
          January 27, 2010 3:28 am

          No. It’s actually a pretty awesome theory. You’re dead on. I’ve always been more intrigued, too. I got one of my oldest friends into the show and she is completely incapable of seeing it that way. But she’s a total Betty. Ridiculously so.

        • erinnthered permalink
          January 28, 2010 5:03 am

          I know, and I like it. Totally on point. Better than a lot of the analysis at BoK. Sometimes they get it so right, and other times I wonder what planet a lot of them are on.

  7. blacklisted permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:55 am

    Thank God Jon Hamm shaved.

    OT: I won tickets to the Kradison concert!

    • deez permalink
      January 27, 2010 2:05 am

      The Kradison concert??? SCORE!!!!Oh yes! We have an eyewitness reporter on the scene! I want videos of fistfights and hairpulling. I also predict you won’t be able to swing a dead cat without hitting a menopausal woman dressed like Joan Jett circa 1983.

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 27, 2010 2:13 am

      No way! Who are you taking…?

      • blacklisted permalink
        January 27, 2010 2:22 am

        I had offered a ticket to my friend when we first heard about the concert. Let’s see if she still wants to go. If not, you got dibs.

    • jukejoint permalink
      January 27, 2010 2:44 pm

      Have fun storming the castle!

      • Burgundy LaRue permalink
        January 27, 2010 3:11 pm

        Take plenty of pictures. I want to see the fall of human civilization in all its megapixeled glory!

  8. jukejoint permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:34 am

    I was thinking that maybe Lucky Strike Jr. could die or something, and then Sal could come back. At the very last, they should show him working for a competitor and stealing accounts. We deserve to know what happens to Sal and poor Kitty.

    • TopIdol permalink
      January 27, 2010 1:43 am

      Remember when he’s doing the Patio commercial for her? And you see her face? Heartbreaking.

      • deez permalink
        January 27, 2010 2:01 am

        I loved that scene. In fact I loved just about every scene Bryan Batt was in . I’m so depressed.

      • jukejoint permalink
        January 27, 2010 2:21 am

        See, that’s why I want to know what happens. When he was doing his best Ann Marget, she totally knew. But they’re Catholic and it’s 1963 and there’s no way she can divorce him. But what do I know about Catholics? I’m a half-Jewish, half-Methodist atheist who was 7 in 1963 and didn’t even have any Catholic friends. So what will Kitty do? What will Sal do when his loins burn for Don Draper just like Kitty’s do? Enquiring minds want to know!

        • TopIdol permalink
          January 27, 2010 2:29 am

          I know one thing. If given the opportunity, I’m sure Sal & Kitty would totally win a dance off between Pete & Trudy. There are some pluses to having musical-loving, debonair closeted homosexual husbands, mind you.

          And if you were 7 in 1963, I am going to assume you were making cocktails and raising hell just like Sally Draper (aka the Meryl Streep of today’s kid actors).

          • jukejoint permalink
            January 27, 2010 2:43 pm

            I’m Bobby in this story, I think. He’s closer to my age. Although I’m a third child, which means I could be Eugene. (I don’t want to be Eugene. Wahhhhh!)

            Bobby can be me if he starts immersing himself in movies and bad TV shows and tuning out his annoying family. (The Purple Rose of Cairo Syndrome.)

            Sally is my sister’s age, though, and I do see some similarities there. My sister was chunky as a ten-year-old and way too worried about her weight, so she became borderline anorexic as a teen. I can see Sally doing that. But I think Sally is going to go full-on Woodstock hippy girl, and my sister was way too into being popular and joining a sorority and dating guys with money for that. I can’t see Sally getting into any of that.

            I just realized that Betty is more of a Veronica and that is weirding me out.

            • deez permalink
              January 27, 2010 3:03 pm

              “I just realized that Betty is more of a Veronica and that is weirding me out.”

              LOL! That brings back memories. When I was a kid, the old lady next door(she was old to me at the time, anyway) was cleaning out her attic after her 2 kids moved away. She gave me 2 huge boxes of “Archie” comics.
              I was fascinated with them (they were from the late 50’s, early 60’s… the clothes were awesome, quite the comic book fashionistas) . Betty and Veronica confused me, however. They looked exactly alike except for the hair, I was mystified that Veronica was the “it” girl. Betty could play baseball, for God’s sake! She kicked ass! *sigh* The cool girls even had it tough in the comics.

              • TopIdol permalink
                January 27, 2010 3:22 pm

                I read Archie comics all the time as a child. I could never decide if I liked Betty more than Veronica, though. She was so blond and perky. I was always fascinated by the fact Jughead alledgely got all sorts of tail when he wore that damned crown. If it came off, a girl wouldn’t even look at him. But he got all sorts of poontang when he wore that thing…I don’t even know why he wore a crown in the first place, but it worked for him.

                • deez permalink
                  January 27, 2010 3:59 pm

                  You and the Blond hate! Lol. What about blond midgets, though…would there be some sort of neutralizing effect there?

                  I wonder if “Archie” is still in print? Archie could try out for AI with an a cappella rendition of “Sugar Sugar”. Comic book Simon would be interesting. Kara’s forehead would also be more believeable in 2-D.

                  • TopIdol permalink
                    January 27, 2010 5:39 pm

                    I’m naturally blond. I totally admit to being a self-loathing natural blond…granted, it is dark blond.

                    Cat Deeley is queen blond. No one can ever compare.

                    • wino permalink
                      January 28, 2010 12:24 am

                      Cat is a goddess…..still waiting for the day Emmy voters notice her natural charm and great hosting skills. She so puuurty.

                      I do get easily annoyed w. the powder blondies of the world. They just make it too easy for me to hate them (specific examples: Kayla and Moron Mollee). Maybe thats another reason I cannot connect with or feel for Betty…..she is the epitome of a fembot. Void of personality and incapable to convey emotion. I could understand her being distant from her husband. But she is absurdly cold to her children, and dangerously ignorant of Sally’s needs. Thus she comes across as extremly childish and selfish….not much to root for as a viewer.

                    • TopIdol permalink
                      January 28, 2010 12:33 am

                      My mother likes Betty. Thinks she is beautiful (she is) and “not a bad mother”. She hasn’t watched season 3 yet, however, my mother and I spent an entire Xmas a few years back fighting because of my hair color. She’s a natural brunette and has no idea why I would want brown hair. She’s learned to shut up about it but it still pops up every once in awhile. She’s otherwise awesome…for the most part 🙂

                      But I think its the whole perfect blond thing, which I’ve just never been a fan of. Some people love that.

                      I’m also beginning to notice Fox News only seems to use vapid-(looking) blond pundits/reporters that look straight out of the pageant circuit. Granted, I never wanted to do broadcast b/c that’s not just me (and I hate the suits), but they’re sort of beyond bad. I just saw a clip with one of them, maybe the morning show woman? Powder blond. Look lobotomized.

                  • 8sourcandy permalink
                    January 28, 2010 6:54 pm

                    Ah, sugar babababababa, oh honey, honey, babababababa, you are my CANDY girl and you got me wantin’ you… 🙂

                    It will take at least three days to get it out of my head.

                    • deez permalink
                      January 28, 2010 7:00 pm

                      Crap, SC…I just got it out of mine, then I clicked on your comment…and LYRICS!!!!! NOOOOOO!!!!!!!

                • carmine2008 permalink
                  January 28, 2010 8:06 am

                  I liked Betty better. She’s hotter and nicer.

            • TopIdol permalink
              January 27, 2010 3:19 pm

              No one wants to be Gene.

            • erinnthered permalink
              January 28, 2010 4:52 am

              My mom is Gene. That explains a lot.

              Also, I loved Purple Rose of Cairo as a child. I had a total Woody Allen obsession by the age of twelve.

  9. jukejoint permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:23 am

    I really thought they would find a way to bring Sal and Bryan back. We have so much to explore with his repressed sexuality and his marriage and his bellboys. Sigh. Now if they’d said January Jones wasn’t coming back… That I could get into to.

    I am so happy that you also think Rachel was his soul mate. She can dump whatever husband she has, because those two kids BELONG. TOGETHER. I am not taking no for an answer. I just rewatched season one and THOSE TWO KIDS BELONG TOGETHER. The cufflinks. Sob. The cufflinks.

  10. deez permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:17 am

    Dammitt…I was hoping that’s Sal’s firing was temporary. His character really added a lot to the office dynamics. Boooo. Season 5 perhaps?

    I may actually have to make a point of watching SNL. I generally make a point of not watching.

Leave a Reply

