Skip to content

AI 9 Hollywood Group Night: Tensions are obviously running higher than ever before

February 11, 2010

Tonight may be my favorite of nights during the entire American Idol season– Hollywood Week’s Group Night! And this is so not just because it is the only time on American Idol in which the very thought of a group sing does not make me want to commit hari kari.

As we know from past Hollywood Weeks…THE STAKES ARE HIGHER THAN EVER BEFORE. AND EVEN HIGHER THAN THE STAKES ARE THE TENSIONS. Yeah, I totally could start writing anything that comes out of Ryan Seacrest’s mouth at this point.

But really! Who doesn’t just love the drama which unfolds when guileless schmucks, catty queens, single moms and soulful boys-next-door “randomly” come together in joyful song? Who doesn’t love the bitch fights and the tears? They even make them do their own choreography.

Apparently, my favorite  (do I remember him?) from last night — aka the guy who hoisted Ryan Seacrest about.5m off the ground — is in a group with one of the over-sized glasses girls AND the frightening ZEFRON BIEBER EYEBROWS. They call themselves the Mighty Rangers…they all auditioned in Denver and just happened to find one another. NOOOOO. Danny Gokey footage! NOOOOO Zefron Bieber Eyebrows has a full name — Danny Jones. NOOOOO!

The Dreamers can’t get their shit together. They are soooo going to be this year’s Team Compromise! It’s called foreshadowing. And while last year had the uber-successful group White Chocolate, I am definitely gonna say Neapolitan is the best group name I’ve heard since…White Chocolate. It’s always best to play upon your racial diversity by making it happy and friendly. Like naming it after confectionaries, candies, and especially ice cream. We all are 31 flavors and then some. Racial harmony could be as simple as the freezer case at your nearest Baskin Robbins!

Poor Neapolitan can’t catch a break. Some bastard group with useless piece of shit Toddrick Hall, either Ben Honeycutt/Tyler Grady and some bitch dressed like Lindsay Lohan on her way into the Valley to pick up the good shit from her dealer, they’re singing way too close to Neapolitan! SEE?? MAS DRAMA! TENSIONS ARE RUNNING HIGH!

Michael Lynche, the soon-to-be-father/cuddly black dude is away from the drama! He and his group finished early. They are also already calling him Big Mike (If you have a nickname this soon in the game, your ass is being pimped.) and they show his group…of which I suspect he and the other big dude are the only ones worth ever having a conversation with, as they are paired with Michael Castro and Tim Urban. This is a bizarre group in many aspects. Oh, and Michael Castro is grinning like a 9-year-old lass who was just told by her mother they were going to the American Girl Store.

I will say it again. I don’t think Michael Lynche is an asshat for not being there for the birth of his child. It is perfectly acceptable for an eighteen-year-old kid to marry his eighteen-year-old girlfriend, enlist in the military, knock her up, and be shipped off to the middle east. Yeah, yeah, yeah. I know. American Idol...Afghanistan. Trust me, I don’t suck that much, but hear me out here — which is more “responsible?” Getting married and joining the military at 18, and getting your wife pregnant before shipping out to a place where you might be killed? Or going to Los Angeles for a week to audition for a show at age 27 when it was not even certain your wife would go into labor during that brief, 5-7 day period? Hell, he might even be able to watch that shit via a webcam–as we already have seen, they had someone filming that spectacle and totally sent it to the Idol producers.

The night continues…the Mighty Rangers talk about their killer choreography and Big Red Glasses girl talks about something (she’s a Dreamer). The Dreamers are all sorts of fail. Michael Orland even tells Mary Powers to shut the frak up.

JESUS CHRIST. COULD WE CHILL ON THE SMARTWATER PRODUCT PLACEMENT?

Destiny’s Wild can all die. Even in the morning. Debra Byrd aka the Debbie Allen of American Idol, tells Phoenix they suck donkey balls and don’t know their heads from their assholes. Big Mike’s wife dilated to 8 centimeters. I really hate Destiny’s Wild. Todrick Hall is a douche and who is the chick in the back trying to be Rhianna? And don’t even get me started on the guy who looks like 150 other previous male Idol wannabees. Is that Ben Honeycutt? I can’t keep track of these people anymore. Oh yeah, and I just really don’t feel the need. I’m hoping they will flash their names on screen when performance time comes.

Maybe in some group, one of these nameless every-dudes will stick out in a sea of fug? I remember this time last year, sitting on this very West Elm sofa (product placement!), writing my little recap, totally freezing the screen so I could include the one outside-idol-fantardlandia-attractive guy I had seen on Idol since say, Ace Young. Even if I thought he looked constipated. (That’s the beauty of my crude screenshots.)

(I have an eye for these things. No, really. I’m like the Pop Culture Miss Cleo. When I saw Lord of the Rings on opening night, I whispered to my friend that the “blond elf” would be huge. She laughed at me. And then he got hugely popular for a little while. I bought my niece an Orlando Bloom calendar for two Xmases in a row and that was one of her favorite gifts! I also said the same thing about the “wheelchair guy” in Gattaca. In October, I called a Saints vs. Indy Super Bowl and said the Saints would win. And from about the Top 6 onward of last year’s Idol, I said the final two would be Kris Allen and Adam Lambert. And no, I don’t think I’m smart or special or that you should ever listen to me. I think I just spewed a bunch of narssistic nonsense because I needed to make myself feel better after eating almost an entire container of french onion dip. Granted, it was with Baked Lays, but I now have french onion dip aftertaste.)

Mary Powers, I am so done with you. And that guy. Yeah, I was never with you to begin with. I am convinced you are the Lost London Brother.

The groups are called in and hold up! One is called The Parkettes? Lilly Scott is in The Parkettes! (I was totally a Parkette. Like, in high school. That’s what the color guard was/is called. Yeah, I was a flag girl. Shut the frak up.) And because reality television is also about impeccable timing, this is also when Michael Lynche’s baby decides its had enough of his wife’s womb. Come on! We have iPhones now! We don’t actually have to like, ever be in the same room with anyone.

Faith
Charity Vance, Michelle Delamor, Ashley Rodriguez

I pretty much eschew anything or anyone that calls themselves faith. The fact there is a Charity in this Faith tells me all I need to know. And seriously, Ashley Rodriguez? You are so boring. I think I may have liked Michelle Delamor during her audition? Yes? No? I can’t tell these people apart anymore. They sing that Beyonce song about commanding the dumped-on-his-ass guy to put all of his belonging in the box that’s not on the right. Yawn. So bored. All of them make it because hey, you know, THIS IS A GIRL’S YEAR.

Team Awesome
Michael Lynche, Seth Rollins, Michael Castro, Tim Urban

Seth Rollins was the guy with the (in my non-professional opinion mildly) autistic kid, right? Ok. Now I totally remember him. See, its much, much easier if you give me a sob story to remember these people by than say, actual vocal ability or name. I have no idea why I’m kind of rooting for Michael Lynche. He sang John Mayer and timed his wife’s labor to perfectly coincide with Idol’s Hollywood Week! I think its more that he’s from Astoria, and for whatever reason, I kind of love parts of Astoria. (Best waxer EVER in this salon called Gigi. And super affordable! If you’re ever in Queens, go have her take off all your unwanted body hair.) Perhaps its because I am always sympathetic to anyone of African-American descent whose last name has the word lynch in it.

However, Team Awesome’s song was super trite. And we already know Michael Lynche makes it. Duh. He’s been on every spoiler list, was rumored to have been disqualified after his father allegedly told a local paper he made it to the Top 24, and oh yeah, they didn’t reuse his compelling back story footage. They filmed NEW stuff. But hey, good riddance Michael Castro. And Seth Rollins, well, they can’t take two big ‘n’ cuddly ethnic daddy types who became buddies during their audition. Haven’t you watched this show before? NEVER! MAS DRAMA MY FRIEND MAS DRAMA!

Neapolitan
Jessica Cunningham, Liz Rooney, Thaddeus Johnson, Random Midget Black Girl

So asshat group Destiny’s Wild is also singing Bad Romance. I assume they will claim Neapolitan ripped their asses off. I don’t really care who came up with it, Bad Romance is all sorts of awesome. And while Worcester gal Liz Rooney kind of sucked, I still liked her because she reminded me of that Amy Poehler character named Kaitlin from SNL. I kept wanting her to scream, but RICKKKKKK! I wanna get my ears pierced. And this made me smile.

How often do I have to be subjected to watching Kara DioGuardi chair dance? It’s painful. PAINFUL. And who is Theri? They gave it a subtitle. Oh, jesus. It’s the Rhianna wannabe. Really. Anyone who goes on American Idol WITH a uni-monkier already should instantly be cut.

Destiny’s Wild
Theri, Todrick Hall, Siobhan Magnus, Jareb Liewer

So the Lost London Brother is JAREB. What? Did the person typing up the birth certificate hit the b instead of the n? Jareb sounds like layman’s terminology for an ass pimple. Siobhan Magnus is the shining star of this group, which isn’t saying much. Theri has no eyes. And Todrick Hall backflipped his way into the Idol Douchebag Hall of Fame.

I think I hate these people. And their rendition of Bad Romance was overwrought with cheesy, cheap theatrics they likely picked up from that damned Glee show.

I have no idea why they keep sending nearly everyone through to the next round. And really. If I hear Get Ready one more time on Idol, I just, well, I just can’t take

Mighty Rangers
Tori Kelly, Maddie Penrose, Mark Labriola, Kimberly Kerbow, Danny Jones
Big Red Glasses Girl now has on big green glasses. She kind of bugs. And Zefron Bieber Eyebrows just sucks. Mark Labriola, dammit it, man. I love that guy. It could have been like Kevin Smith doing Idol. AND I HAVE THE SAME T-SHIRT! From Threadless, the Spoilt tee! Watching Mark cry makes me sad.

BUT YAY! Zefron Bieber Eyebrows is gone! Now I can’t make fun of him anymore. Of course, since I actually do have a heart, I often feel bad when even those who frighten me get sent packing. I am sensitive like that. It sucks.

Phoenix
Jermaine Sellers, Kat Nessell, Ben Honeycutt, Jeff Goldford, Morrea Masa
Kat Nessell bails. Like literally. Homegirl picked up and went home. Way to choke! Second-time Hollywood Week attendee Morrea Masa forgets the lyrics to Carry On My Wayward Son. (Also bringing back memories of my days as a flag girl. Can you believe we had a routine to that shit?) Finally saw Ben Honeycutt sing. I guess I can’t keep calling all young guys with mussed hair and open shirts Ben Honeycutt. Jeff and Jermaine make it. Morrea needs to shut up. She’s only 17. And I suspect Jeff Goldford could attract his fair share of frauen.

Holy trainwreck. Gwen Stefani, ugh. But was that a JOHN PARK sighting??? John Park! Orientals for Idol! Hey, why isn’t any other group taking issue with other groups singing the same song? The former convict was sent home, and some others, including some guy who looked a lot like Vinny from Jersey Shore. But yay! Carmen Turner is gone. And I’ve already forgotten this one’s name but I have two words for her:

Waterproof Mascara


For chrissake, when I went out to the bars in college, I would ONLY wear waterproof mascara and eye liner. Because how was I supposed to know what night I was gonna have? I could have ended up crying in a bathroom stall! If I took this much consideration about the variable unknown in going out and boozing it up in a a college town, wouldn’t you have thought to have done the same if you were going into a high-pressure, high-stress environment such as American Idol group night? And we didn’t even have digital cameras back then! You go into a situation like this when there’s a full-camera crew and you let your mascara run down your fraking face like you’re the second coming of the not-cool, 1980s Tammy Faye Bakker? Get your sorry, soot-laden face and get your ass on the plane back home. I can’t even look at you anymore.

And you know who else I can’t look at? Kara DioGuardi. Especially Kara DioGuardi bobbing her head up and down. Does she think its gonna shake some of the Botox loose or something? It is a certain, indisputable fact Kara DioGuardi is incapable of doing anything which will not make a person want to shank her ass.

Middle C
Janell Wheeler, Jermaine Purifory, Casey James

Well, ain’t this just a trio of chosen ones. Shiny new pennies. Commercial! I bet they know what kind of artists they’ll be! Quit bobbing your damned head, Kara DioGuardi.

Three Men and a Baby
Andrew Garcia, Katie Stevens, J.B. Ahfua, nameless black gentleman
I can’t be the only one getting the Gokey vibe off Gang Bang Garcia now, can I? That shit was pure Gokey. I swear, this season, fad eyewear may be in competition with guitars as the go-to prop…besides a dead relative, cancer or hangnail, of course.

The Dreamers (aka DRAMA)
Mary Powers, Hope Johnson, Alex Lambert, Margo May,

Margo May–WHO THE HELL LET YOUR ASS IN HERE? You look and sound like something out of a V.C. Andrews novel.

Alex Lambert, you are so screwed because your name isn’t exactly unlike Adam Lambert. I have a feeling this could prove disastrous on about as many levels as there are rungs of hell. Mary, Hope and Alex make it to the next round.

Bullshit montage punctuated with Shit-For-Brains telling Katie Fraking Stevens (I HATE THIS KID. IT IS OFFICIAL.) she could be the winner of American Idol. Oh. And it ends with a voiceover quote from Casey James. Idol…you’re just telling people how to vote. Just shut your trap.

43 Comments leave one →
  1. jukejoint permalink
    February 15, 2010 3:30 pm

    I saw this at Futon Critic:

    “In an AMERICAN IDOL first, some of the Top 24 semifinalists will be revealed in a special two-hour event airing Tuesday, Feb. 16 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) on FOX.

    On Tuesday evening, the remaining contestants will take the stage to perform their final solo number in front of Simon, Ellen, Kara and Randy in hopes of singing their way into the Top 24. Following these performances, the judges will deliberate, and for the first time in IDOL history, will announce some of the Top 24 semifinalists.

    Tune in Wednesday, Feb. 17 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) as the judges reveal the remaining contestants who will round out the Top 24. ”

    http://www.thefutoncritic.com/news.aspx?id=20100215fox01

    WTF??? They’re going to tell 12 of them they’re in, then drag out the other 12 AND some unlucky people who’ve already been booted but they have to come on TV and pretend they weren’t? So they can pretend that the Top 24 haven’t already been chosen?

    Oh, those PTB. They are so wily.

  2. erinnthered permalink
    February 15, 2010 12:46 pm

    Andrew Garcia is the racist one? Damn, that sucks. This is what I get for hardly paying attention in the early rounds.

    And Kara…I just hope they keep up the less is more trend with her. Kara bopping to the beat =/= Paula.

  3. erinnthered permalink
    February 15, 2010 12:40 pm

    I finally caught up!

    I kinda like Didi, the Bowersox girl, Lilly, and Andrew. I know, but in all honesty, I didn’t dislike Gokey out of the gate either.Casey sounds great, but I can’t get over the audition stunt. I also think he might be a one note kinda guy.

    IMHO, the camera angles say Big Mike and Casey are the fave guys of the producers right now. The pimping says Didi and Katie are the fave girls.

    Every member of Destiny’s Wild can jump off a cliff. I’m sad Mary Powers ended being a crazy control freak. Not too many good crazy people this year. It makes me sad, and want to see Normund do his thing live.

    Debrah Byrd and Michael Orland remain amazing in the face of such ineptitude. I wonder if they ever have any say in who goes forward.

  4. auntieaimee permalink
    February 12, 2010 8:38 am

    All I know is that I wanted to beat the ever living shit out of that lost London brother. As soon as he opened his mouth, it was instantaneous hatred. Jareb. Jareb?! Stupid name, too.

  5. February 12, 2010 6:56 am

    Is it just me, or are they not realizing who the good people are AT ALL this year?!
    Katie Stevens is NOT THAT GOOD! SHE SINGS FROM HER THROAT! She sounds like the love child of Whitney Houston and a FROG, that’s how throaty she is. Dammit. I hate when they tell people how gifted they are when they don’t even sing properly. You know how much hard work it takes to sing properly???? A LOT.
    And Todrick Hall is the biggest douchebag ever. He should go cliff jumping with Heidi Montag and Spencer Pratt. Why do the judges let douchebags through? Isn’t it their job to let marketable people succeed? No one likes douchebags. Even Perez Hilton doesn’t like John Mayer, and he’s one of the biggest assfaces out there.
    And is it just me, or does Tim Urban always sound like he’s about to pass out? Cuz I really don’t get why he keeps getting through. To me, he is weak.
    And that Morrea girl pisses me off.
    Oh and Charity. She does that annoying thing where it sounds like she’s putting in some kind of exasperated sigh, but really she just has no breathing technique whatsoever and is gonna pass out on stage one of these days.
    FEJFJDSKLFJDKNKDSJFOEJFESHFDKS. IDOL. WHY. JUST WHY.

  6. Smartie permalink
    February 11, 2010 11:34 pm

    This is such a dull bunch they should have kept Mary in for lolz. She’d piss off everyone else.

    Mike Lynch is a douchebag.

    “Daddy where were you in my birth photos?”

    “Son, I was off whoring myself for karaoke, please get down off the clock tower with that rifle.”

    Todrick is a mega douche.

    • Sherena permalink
      February 12, 2010 12:29 am

      ~TEAM MARY POWERS~

      All I remember about Todrick is that he isn’t ugly.

      • Smartie permalink
        February 12, 2010 12:55 am

        He’s an ugly little bitch who steals children’s money.

        • Sherena permalink
          February 12, 2010 1:24 am

          Oh dear. He’s that one. Now I’m not allowed to like him anymore 😦

          • TopIdol permalink
            February 12, 2010 1:39 am

            I hate Todrick Hall. HATE HIM. I want to kick him in his smug fug.

  7. kimberly permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:29 pm

    Extremely OT and not at all snarky —

    A friend who is of Native American descent just emailed me with this:

    I felt compelled to share it here, not having a blog or LJ. If Glamberts are so anxious to spend their money, perhaps this cause might fill the bill. If they can find it in their hearts to help a 90 year old woman see Adam Lambert, why not a pair of shoes for a child or an elder.

    http://www.aaip.org

  8. Sherena permalink
    February 11, 2010 8:51 pm

    Mary Powers reminds me of Pink. Apparently bossy and in-your-face doesn’t work as well on AI as in real life…

  9. 8sourcandy permalink
    February 11, 2010 7:48 pm

    “Quit bobbing your damned head, Kara DioGuardi.”

    I cannot watch her move without being reminded of Michael Slezak comparing her to one of those mechanical dancing monkeys.

    • deez permalink
      February 11, 2010 8:09 pm

      NOOO! Wind-up cymbal playing monkey was one of VFTW’s things for Kris last year! Wind-up Monkey>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Kara

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        February 12, 2010 12:21 am

        That’s the one!!! 🙂

  10. kimberly permalink
    February 11, 2010 5:48 pm

    LOL @ french onion dip aftertaste, waterproof mascara, and Michael Castro = 9 yr old lass & american girl store.

    For some reason, I got momentary pleasure when Kara’s earring dropped off when she was speaking. I could just tell it flustered her and for that I’m happy. No longer letting ths woman get off easy.

    Oh, and love Big Mike, and congratulations to him. I was watching IDOL with my daughter and she was ready to leave the room with the hospital scenes. For a time, I thought they were going the TLC route.

    • deez permalink
      February 11, 2010 5:28 pm

      I guess Kara’s getting a headstart on her new career as a Hooters girl in anticipation of Idol’s demise?

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        February 12, 2010 12:24 am

        Um, she doesn’t have hooters.

        • deez permalink
          February 12, 2010 1:20 am

          True….she is failing at everything.

  11. jukejoint permalink
    February 11, 2010 3:34 pm

    There was a cute guy with a nice voice in some group they showed for three seconds– you’re all going through — with no names attached to them. I think he was wearing a brown jacket, but seriously, it flashed by so fast, I don’t really remember. So my question is — why bother? They’re clearly pimping Big Mike and Casey as the Only Boys We Care About, although the Jermaine from Joliet got thirty seconds, maybe, and we saw a flash of the John Mayer guy with broken wrists. And Todrick got the big “We’re setting you up as such a dick that you will survive 10 seconds in the top 24 if we deign to let you in” edit.

    I think Mary is out fer sher, cause they made her such a beeyotch, and Katie with the Alzheimers Grandma may just end up your 2010 American Idol. Kara’s working that meme hard already. Also in the “chosen” pile — Janell with no last e. I don’t get it, either, cause girl can’t sing.

  12. notarding permalink
    February 11, 2010 3:24 pm

    sadly, hot cancerman was eliminated I believe. Yeah they are really trying to push the chicks this year, but i’m not buying it. The frau will rise again!!

    Man, John Mayer is dead to me too. For someone who pandered to the blues the crowd then brings up David Duke makes me think he is insane or a douche or both.

  13. Full Tilt permalink
    February 11, 2010 3:01 pm

    Well, I for one was totally confused last night and I’ve been watching this shitfest since the beginning. Wasn’t this our first glimpse of Michael Castro this season. Wow, he really went down the crapper. Beasty must be flipping out. And did the cancer guy who auditioned in Boston make it through? (I can’t remember anyone’s name.) Well, except for Mary Powers, who is a bitch on wheels and didn’t even sing that well as far as I could see. Why would the 3 other people in the group let her take over like that. They should have overridden her big ass and taken control of their group back. I also felt like crying that ex-con guy from Florida didn’t make the cut last night. I kind of liked him. Honestly they are getting on my last nerve pimping every girl in sight.

  14. LeighKat permalink
    February 11, 2010 2:53 pm

    “We all are 31 flavors and then some. Racial harmony could be as simple as the freezer case at your nearest Baskin Robbins!”

    Lol!I bet you next year there will be a group called “31 Flavours”! I certainly hope they don’t go all Mayer and talk about Benneton hearts and David Duke penises… sorry, totally random but, I am still very disturbed by those Mayer interviews.

    I was highly annoyed by the lack of John Park. Lauren, I think your totally onto something with your “multiple Asian trick” theory.

    The Gokey vibe is strong with that Garcia kid. Hey, he even comes complete with racial slurs! (see VFTW). So Gokey had the homophobia on lock and Garcia has tapped into the racist market.lol! It would have made more sense if Shit for Brains compared him to Gokey no? I kid, I kid.
    Oh, and speaking of Botox Bitch, can someone please slap Dioguardi for me? I loathe that woman.

    • Sherena permalink
      February 11, 2010 8:54 pm

      Mayer tried way too hard to sound cool and nonchalant. He was probably after some controversy, but wasn’t prepared for this level of it. Stupid move.

  15. notarding permalink
    February 11, 2010 2:51 pm

    OMG, that was boring yet again! The fake Drama! Mary, I use to like her, but now yes she is dead to me too. What a arrogant, hyper, annoying witch! I wanted to cut her, seriously. No john park the whole stupid show? And why did they only cut like 25 people? I swear most of them were off key or just plain horrible.

    Glasses girl: I dont get it? really? Is suppose to be cutting edge cause she is attractive yet wears ugly glasses? Don’t like her at all. I kinda like the Rhianna chick. She looks different. Kinda like a punked up black chick.

  16. stanless permalink
    February 11, 2010 1:13 pm

    They didn’t know stained teeth girl either (I can’t be bothered with names at this point) She had a great voice I thought. Maybe they’re waiting for the Crest WhiteStrips to kick in before she gets more screen time.

  17. February 11, 2010 12:44 pm

    Holy bitch edit for Mary Powers. Even my only marginally interested husband walked by and said, “Damn, they should cut that bitch.” I’m assuming he meant like cut from the show and not cut her for real, otherwise I’m scared, but whatever.

    Couldn’t help but wondering… where the hell are the cute boys? Guess when they say “a girl will win” they want to realllllly make sure.

    Glasses girl bugs. That whole stupid group Destiny’s Wild made me want to stab them.

  18. saskin permalink
    February 11, 2010 12:28 pm

    Oh my. Now I remember why I never took this show seriously before. How awful were they? All of them. I think some are borderline most are absolutely tone deaf. Does this have anything to do with singing? They are casting; blond girl check, black cool dude check, Asian kid check, single mom check… what are we forgetting? Oh the new father check, cuddly guy check, hmmm the hot white guy… that blond over there, he’s hot, yes? No? Whatever, you’re in.

  19. pattyluponey permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:14 am

    My mom totally brought up the whole deployed soldier having a baby scenario while we were watching. It happens all the time…

  20. spinningfasterandfastertonowhere permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:33 am

    They didn’t even show Michael Castro singing and being cut…lol

  21. Pandora permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:25 am

    Yeah, Katie Stevens needs to go, now. I like the fact that even though she has a big voice she’s not going all Mariah and Whitney, but she’s still annoying and has no apparent personality. Show us some more Lilly Scott, anyone who goes on Idol with hair dyed that color definitely HAS a personality. Oh, and her singing is interesting too.

    • wino permalink
      February 11, 2010 7:37 pm

      a very telling sign was the song she sang on Tuesday, stevie freakin wonder. while the other “good” girls sang contemporary tracks.

  22. Kathy permalink
    February 11, 2010 8:15 am

    London brothers lol I always thought the twin in Dazed and Confused was just a little cuter.heh I still like Ben. Can’t help it. I will never again visit a contestants youtube page before the 24. I am over Mary as well. Honey the cameras are on you know, way to make sure you get no votes outside your family. Not fair but true. I think they don’t show John because they want to be sure no decent boy has a fanbase before the 24 starts. Well decent looking boy. They do show Andrew but I don’t think he scares them fanbase wise. Kara and her pulling a Paula to the 16 year old brunette, you could be the winner. Meh. I’m with you , I think she only helped grandma up the stairs for video. And her cheesy, vocal coach taught facial expressions make me want to gag.

  23. caspar permalink
    February 11, 2010 7:59 am

    The VH1 concert that was so abruptly announced: Hee! How many 50 or 60-year olds are going to send in their daughter’s pics to try to get tickets? And what kind of scene will there be when the bouncers start turning them away at the door?

    I want to hear the Glamberts freak like the Cooktards did about the college concerts! (Except this is much, much worse, really).

    • Kathy permalink
      February 11, 2010 8:16 am

      OMG I didn’t even think about them sending in other pics for tickets lol Oh someone please show up and video this train wreck!

    • SarahBeth permalink
      February 11, 2010 11:23 am

      This meltdown is going to be fabulously epic and I can’t wait to see it.

  24. Fan permalink
    February 11, 2010 4:00 am

    Ben Honeycutt though…I can’t believe he didn’t make the Top 24.
    I’ve lost so much interest in this show, and nothing so far tops off Season 8. IDEK.

  25. cimi permalink
    February 11, 2010 3:51 am

    I don’t normally swear but WT*__They let that crazy windbag Mary whatever her name is through?? Why?? Was I the only one that noticed she forgot the words to the song? And talk about control freak–don’t these people know they’re on camera? I seriously wanted to stuff a sock in her gigantic mouth and cover it with duct-tape. I’m embarrassed FOR her.

    And what about that Jeff sellers? __ Nice… Doesn’t he sound like someone we all know and love? (well some of us). He’s definitely gonna make Top 12.

  26. Lauren permalink
    February 11, 2010 3:49 am

    I actually really enjoyed Idol. I mean how can you NOT enjoy group performances? Mary Powers is dead to me. She was one of my favorites from yesterday too :/
    And why didn’t John Park get to sing? I saw him like 5 times but they didn’t even show his group. I think the producers think that if they repeatedly show quick flashes of John Park, people will think they have several Asian boys instead of just one.
    I actually kind of loved Destiny’s Wild. Maybe I was just comparing it to the crap that was Neapolitan. *shrugs*
    Oh and side note: Every time Kris’s Ford commercial comes on my mom and get silent and just stare. After the commercial is over, normal conversation resumes. I think I have finally made her a Kris fan. Yay!

    • pattyluponey permalink
      February 11, 2010 10:16 am

      LOL! That totally happens in my living room when the Kris commercial comes on too!!! Except my mom’s been a Kris fan since the top 13 last season.

    • deez permalink
      February 11, 2010 10:30 am

      I think Kris’ speaking voice can induce a trance.It’s kinda low and mumbly, yet pleasing.
      I was going to analogize about a warm fuzzy blanket….but ewwww….that sort of tarding verges on the Glambertesque …I’ll stop now.

    • Sherena permalink
      February 11, 2010 8:21 pm

      “I think the producers think that if they repeatedly show quick flashes of John Park, people will think they have several Asian boys instead of just one.”

      haha perfect 🙂

Leave a Reply

