Skip to content

American Idol Top 5 Theme SPOILER

April 23, 2009

Next week, the Top 5 will be performing…

JAZZ STANDARDS

I recall them doing one of these in Season 4, right? Wait. That was Broadway. However, since it is the Top 5, they will start doing TWO songs, right? So will there be another theme?

Should be interesting. Let’s hope La Princesa busts out some Billie Holiday. We know there is one thing we can count on, too — Kara DioGuardi having yet another Molegasm.

(And yes, I received this info from a very reliable source.)

UPDATE: (Thanks, MJ!) And it’s even more specific. It’s Rat Pack Standards. (i.e., anything sung by the Rat Pack). Wow. More cool dead people are rolling over in their graves right now.

Next week, the Top 5 finalists – Kris Allen, Matt Giraud, Danny Gokey, Allison Iraheta and Adam Lambert – take the stage again Tuesday, April 28 (8:00-9:01 PM ET live/PT tape-delayed) to perform standards made famous by members of the original Rat Pack, a group of legendary performers that included Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin and Sammy Davis Jr.

And somewhere, this dude is crying.

Von Smith kind of freaks me out

44 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 12:21 pm

    danny doesn’t sing, he shouts. I can still remember his performance of Rascal Flatts’ “What hurts the Most”. He was the worst but praised to death and wasn’t voted off. Yuck!

  2. Ice Burn permalink
    April 27, 2009 4:41 pm

    Adam is good at whatever he dos 🙂 people act like its a big deal that he is Gay and some ppl try to fight the fact he is gay.. he is and he is not trying to hide it liek Clay lol I liek hi, 🙂

  3. Sane Jason Fan permalink
    April 27, 2009 3:22 pm

    Matt should do well with this theme which sort of complicates things. I had him and his Mole pegged as the next to go but now I’m anything but sure. Then again he’s already been voted off several times so he’s probably still in a weak position.

    Will Danny finally get the pimp spot this week? If he does I shudder to think what sort of moment they have planned for us. I wonder if they’ll work another harp into his arrangement.

    I think everyone but Danny is in trouble this week. That’s if Danny gets the pimp spot. If he doesn’t get it he’s in trouble too.

  4. Amelia permalink
    April 27, 2009 8:16 am

    Kris will do Jazz well. He has some Jazz-like sounds in quite a few of his songs. I’m really looking foward to watching him this week.

    Matt has had the biggest lifeboat thrown to him this week & has a good chance of doing quite (or very) well. I was sure he was going to go out, and he seems the one who most deserves to leave IMO (the judges have saved him from his low votes twice: they used the judges save on him; and earlier Matt & Anoop didn’t get enough votes to advance to the top 12 but the judges saved them with Wildcards). Part of me hopes that this will be the best performance we’ve seen yet from Matt, because I like Matt & really enjoy some of his songs (others are very missable). But I think Allison so far in the competition deserves to stay on longer, she is really great and has consistently received mostly positive reviews from the judges. I would be sad to see Allison go. And I will be raving mad if somehow Kris is voted off this week (unless he truly sucks and then I’ll have to accept that). I’m hoping Idol becomes exciting by Kris Allen closing the gap on Danny Gokey, and hopefully making it into the finals. Even if he doesn’t I think Danny Gokey could be a big threat to an Adam Lambert victory. Danny is going to get most of Matt & Kris’ fanbases if they are eliminated first (although Allison’s fans might side with Adam). The 5 remaining contestants are very talented people & I like them all. I will be sad whoever goes, particularly if they all do really well this week (which they probably will!) Now there is only 5 left everyone except Danny or Adam could be voted off if they give a substandard performance.

    Go Kris! (and good luck Matt and Allison!)

  5. Lizzy permalink
    April 26, 2009 11:03 pm

    My song picks for the contestants:

    Adam: “Fever” and “They Can’t Take That Away From Me” (Any song pick will be good, but with these songs, he can show his showmanship!_

    Danny: “I Won’t Dance” and “Call me Irresponsible” (He’ll probably keep it the same, sing it well, but no change in the song at all)

    Matt: “The Way You Look Tonight” and “That’s Life” or “Someone to Watch Over me” (He can slow it down with the two ballads with him and the piano and pick it up with That’s Life and make it really soulful. Either way, I will VOTE FOR HIM!)

    Kris: “Mr. Bojangles” and “Smile” (Kris will definitely make it his own, guitar and all)

    Allison: “Feeling Good” and “Blue Moon” (She’ll probably sing these songs to death, but will be in the bottom 3)

    I can’t wait for Tuesday! What do you guys think of the song picks?

    • AIFan permalink
      April 27, 2009 1:02 am

      Good picks, except for “Fever” – it’s been done to death on AI and I don’t think anyone wants to hear it again, even from Adam.

  6. Heather permalink
    April 26, 2009 2:36 pm

    What’s a “molegasm”? Is that referring to Kara’s not-so-hidden adoration for Matt? I haven’t seen it in the past few weeks. But who can forget when Matt sang “So Small” and Kara goes, “There’s nothing small about YOU!” Hee-hee

  7. Bri permalink
    April 26, 2009 11:52 am

    Matts gonna knock this one out of the park (or at least he should)… i really hope he does “The Way You Look Tonight” slowed down on the piano 🙂

  8. April 25, 2009 7:34 am

    The Kradam tabloid was just soooo meh. Oh, yeah, those boys are seething with hatred towards one another *rolls eyes*

    Love your blog, Top Idol! Keep up the good work.
    Can’t wait for more updates! 😛

  9. ChicagoismynewBlog permalink
    April 24, 2009 5:14 pm

    Congrats on the success of your blog! I started my very own wordpress blog recently so when you have the chance, check it out! Good luck.

    http://chicagoismynewblog.wordpress.com/

  10. April 24, 2009 4:55 pm

    This makes me sad ’cause we all know how Megan would’ve totally rocked this theme.

  11. MesDuck permalink
    April 24, 2009 3:46 pm

    Re tabloid status: Someone’s craving Kris’ little rounds. Kris, you’d better be careful (motion detectors around the bed?)

  12. Deez permalink
    April 24, 2009 2:34 pm

    LOL…check this out: http://img131.imageshack.us/my.php?image=96557055.jpg

    I guess Adam and Kris have now achieved tabloid status!!!

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 24, 2009 2:52 pm

      Oh I so do not believe those terrible lies about Kradam! Ha ha ha. Must have been a slow news week.

  13. April 24, 2009 4:03 am

    Tino Rossi rocks!

  14. Lizzy permalink
    April 23, 2009 10:56 pm

    I remember back in season 1, Kelly Clarkson did “Stuff Like That There” and it was amazing. I’ve been waiting the Jazz Standards theme all season and I’m so excited. There are so many songs to choose from and the contestants can change the songs up easily. I was hoping Matt would make it to Jazz Standards because I know he’ll do really well with it. Adam will probably do well, in the judges eyes, he can do no wrong. Danny Gokey needs to change it up, he used to be one of my favorites, but now he’s just plan boring. I was not originally a Kris fan especially when he sang “Man in the Mirror” but I’m becoming a fan now. Alison…sometimes I like her, sometimes I don’t. But I’m always a Matt Giraud fan. He has FLAVAAAAAH!

    • Deez permalink
      April 24, 2009 9:36 am

      I think we will be getting everyone’s best next Tuesday. This theme really lends itself well to showcasing a voice. I think you are right about Matt. A lot of people are counting him out, but I think he could potentially be the best of the night.(a little Sinatra swagger) Adam will be good also. (I think he’ll probably tone it down this week)DAnny will have a good performance also if he resists the temptation to overpower the song. Kris will “funk” something up, and it will probably be awesome. Allison is the only one I’m worried for, but I think she has the voice to pull off a “guy” thing. I think this will be very entertaining!Top Idol may have trouble with the “funny” this week…never mind, Kara will make some comment confusing Dean Martin with Jerry Lewis.(I take it back!)

      • TopIdol permalink
        April 24, 2009 11:59 am

        Kara will refer to Sinatra and those guys as the “Cat Pack” and how so-and-so’s performance was “straight out of Ocean’s 57”.

        • Deez permalink
          April 24, 2009 1:23 pm

          LOL!!!!!!!!! I can’t wait for this week’s gibberish!

        • April 24, 2009 2:41 pm

          Poor Kara. Leave her alone. She’s growing on me. Like a tumor.

  15. Katarina permalink
    April 23, 2009 8:55 pm

    Broadway would be interesting though…

  16. Chefshortz permalink
    April 23, 2009 5:25 pm

    Okay. So you know that I read your blog on a regular basis and love you dearly but WHY ARCHULETA?! That kid and his music are my guilty pleasures. I’m sorry. I can’t help it. I don’t understand why everyone has to pick on the poor kid…ok there. I said it. I still love your blog and totally agree with everything else. Haha

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 23, 2009 5:40 pm

      Hey, I did call him The Eunuch but then I totally felt bad and thought ohhhhh, what a nice little boy. So lovable.

      I can’t wait for his rebellious stage.

  17. Dr Fender permalink
    April 23, 2009 12:35 pm

    Theme nights don’t mean a damn thing anymore, except for being a restricted song list. You know that Adam will screech whatever song he picks, and Allison will make Sinatra sound like Melissa Ethridge. Lil is the only one who really did disco the other night, and look where that got her. If they don’t make them perform the songs like the ratpack, then the theme is moot.

  18. Deez permalink
    April 23, 2009 9:29 am

    Well, at least we don’t have to worry about a certain someone’s groovy jazz moves next week.

    Gokey “meditated” on his clumsiness, and it is now healed.

    • Clare permalink
      April 23, 2009 11:30 am

      Deez, you do realize meditate can mean to think about or reflect on, right? I personally think Danny will do well next week.

      • Deez permalink
        April 23, 2009 4:59 pm

        NAAAAHHHHH!! Not when uttered by the King of Smug. It was another thinly veiled “look at me” attempt.THere are too many to be a coincidence.(anyone else would’ve used the word “thought”. It was a calculated response…it’s like “I meditated about about having a Dr Pepper with my lunch”… that is not a word you use off the cuff.)

        • lolz permalink
          April 23, 2009 10:31 pm

          That is way out there. Either Danny has an IQ of 170 or some of these conspiracy theories are incorrect. I don’t see how being asked how he felt about being critiqued in front of 30 million people, live on television, compares to you thinking about whether or not the extra calories from the Dr Pepper are worth the kankles you walk around in.

        • Deez permalink
          April 24, 2009 9:19 am

          Fail. Sorry, When asked a question people don’t use the word “meditate” as a matter of course. It was a word used as a substitute for “prayed”, he wanted to be PC for TV, while at the same time reinforcing the impression his fans have of him. These FBIM people are very calculating, he knew exactly what his fans would infer.

  19. AIFan permalink
    April 23, 2009 9:12 am

    I remember Fantasia doing “Crazy Little Thing Called Love” on the Big Band night, so I am thinking this “Jazz Standards” theme is going to be rather flexible and they’ll be able to pick more recent songs.

    • AIFan permalink
      April 23, 2009 9:13 am

      Oh, I did not read the Update. Never mind.

  20. SeanD permalink
    April 23, 2009 8:06 am

    Jazz standards? Really? Lots of great songs to choose from. Unfortunately, for the fab five most of them were written before 1970. I keep thinking of Skylark for Adam. Why? I dunno.

  21. April 23, 2009 1:12 am

    Hmm.
    Doing NOT well will be Gokey.
    YAY!

  22. Joel permalink
    April 23, 2009 1:02 am

    Yes, this should definitely be a good night for Matt.

  23. yo yo permalink
    April 23, 2009 12:56 am

    matt is gonna rock at this!

  24. AIFan permalink
    April 23, 2009 12:36 am

    Jazz standards ? Is that like “Big Band” ? Season 3 had one of those. And Season 1 had it too. But I can’t remember them doing it in any other season. Somehow I don’t envision this group doing it well, other than Adam of course.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 23, 2009 12:41 am

      I remember Greasy Constantine doing My Funny Valentine. I’m trying to think what the others did that season…

      Of course, with the Top 5, they’ll be doing 2 songs. So this could just be one theme….

      • AIFan permalink
        April 23, 2009 12:44 am

        You are thinking of Broadway Night. Constantine was decent that night, but everyone else sucked horribly.

        • TopIdol permalink
          April 23, 2009 12:53 am

          I remember it being decent. But I still had to follow up the episode with a massive dose of antibiotics because of the VD transmitted through my TV screen.

Trackbacks

  1. Μπράβο στον Δημήτρη Ιατρίδη, που όλα τα προλαβαίνει! « Τσουκνίδα
  2. Next Week’s Theme? | Pop Vixen
  3. Top 5 Theme is “Rat Pack” Standards, Taylor Hicks Returns to American Idol | Most Interesting Info
  4. Music Blogs Line Up To Take Credit For Lykke Li’s Ersatz Ford Ad « Idolator: Music News, Reviews, And Gossip
  5. Top 5 Theme is Jazz Standards | mjsbigblog

Leave a comment